hellooo word press

I’m new to word press but not to blogging. I used blog spot at first but now I’m converting to word press. After I read Lawfully Wedded Wife’s blog, I had to convert. I love her pictures and her blog. I hope I can create an awesome blog like The Pioneer Woman or Bakerella. I’m not that skilled yet. Just a poor college student šŸ˜¦ But hopefully that will change. I have to let you know right now, my life is the opposite of exciting. Is it boring? Perhaps..there’s a few excitements here and there.

I named my blog fail sweetly because I just went out on a wim. Is that a word? I might have spelled it wrong but I don’t care. You will probably find the most spelling and grammatical errors on my blog. I have a unique writing style, what can I say? Anyway, I named my blog fail because that’s what I’m feeling at the moment, like a failure. I named it sweetly because I believe if you’re going to fail you should do it sweetly instead of horribly. Is it weird that I actually differentiate different kinds of failure? lol Sorry about that. I’m extremely sarcastic as well so please don’t be offended by the weird things that I blog about.

I’m a junior at UCI, I should have graduated last month but it took me 3 years to graduate community college. I’m not complaining though, I got two associates so I should be happy. However, I’m not. Let me tell you, being a transfer student completely stinks. I’m saying that in the nicest way possible. School’s don’t feel the need to help you in any way because you’re not a freshman so that means you’re “supposed to know” things that you don’t. Obviously you wouldn’t ask unless you didn’t know right? Or maybe it’s just me. I had so many plans for my future. I had so many dreams to become a psychologist. Now they are all going down the drain. This year has been my first school year at UCI and it has NOT been pretty. I’m doing so horrible academically that it’s starting to take a toll on my well-being. So it went like this. Fall quarter = extremely homesick, not sleeping right, and not eating enough. Winter quarter = two friends passing away and one used to be really close to me. Spring quarter = lots of disappointment, feeling like a failure, working harder than I’ve ever before, and a possible mental breakdown.

When I entered community college, I had no idea what I wanted to do or what to major in. I fell in love with psychology as I took my first psych class. I found every part of the subject interesting. Graduating from community college with a 3.0 or higher was my goal. I succeeded. Going into UCI, I was confident and ambitious. That didn’t last long. Fall quarter I hit rock bottom and I failed one class. ONE CLASS. I don’t believe one class should define who you are as a student or as a person but this class is kicking my butt so far. This class has stuck with me the entire year and haunted me to my possible mental breakdown. I’m a hard worker. I worked my butt off to get to UCI and it scars me so badly to know that all my hard work is going down the drain. I feel inadequate compared to my peers. Sometimes, the counselors and professors make me feel stupid. And I know for a fact that I’m not stupid. Some people may say suck it up but really? Is that how our educational system has come to nowadays? Suck it up and get kicked out because you’re not smart enough? I’m just a little confused. If you’re smart enough to get in, shouldn’t you be smart enough to stay in? I guess that’s not the case I’m in. I’m smart enough to get in but too stupid so I’m getting kicked out? I spent the day writing an appeal letter.

I have no idea what to do. The more I study the less sleep I get. I study more than some people in class and they still get better grades than I do. I form study groups, I talk to the professors and teaching assistants, I READ (which most people don’t actually do) and yet I’m still doing poorly. Is there some sort of secret to succeeding in the UC system because I need to know it! Help a girl out will you? Anybody? Buler…buler…is that even how you spell it? I’m horrible at spelling. No, that’s not why I’m doing poorly. I’m not an English major so it wouldn’t matter anyway. Psychology majors and APA style..that’s the only way to go. Psych majors know what I’m talking about. Everything you learn in high school and community college about MLA format does not apply here people. You need to master the style of APA format. Only required for Psych majors. Should we feel special? I certainly don’t.

The only highlight of my day was this baby. A cup of bitter grass jelly and strawberry ice cream. My mom actually introduced it to me about an hour ago šŸ™‚ I finished my dinner and she noticed I was a bit bummed so she recommended that I try it. Mama knows best right? YES! It really hits the spot if you’re into that sort of thing. Usually, my family eats bitter grass jelly for certain holidays. I’m not sure which ones since there are quite a few. You would usually eat it with sugar but the ice cream is a great substitute because it already has sugar in it. Strawberry was the best choice. Hope you’ll try it out. I love the texture.

Here’s the recipe..
Grass (Herbal) Jelly w/Ice Cream
1 can of bitter grass jelly (cut into tiny squares)
strawberry ice cream (any flavor is fine but I think fruit flavors make the jelly stand out)

1. Cut the can of bitter grass jelly into tiny squares. You can find them in asian supermarkets. They’re also called Chinese Herbal Gelatin. It’s essentially the same thing. I call it Bitter Grass Jelly because it’s BITTER. Don’t ever eat it without sugar unless you like bitter things.
2. Spoon as much as you like into a medium bowl. I spooned about 4-5 tablespoons.
3. Add two scoops of your favorite fruit flavored ice cream on top of the grass jelly and enjoy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hope you lovelys like it as much as I do. I have a habit of being addicted to weird food combinations. Thank you for reading, especially my 6 paragraph rant.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

