diced tomato & beef pasta

Photobucket
I’m extremely bummed. In all my effort not to look like an airhead (sorry) I couldn’t help myself. I was reading Helen Naturally and saw her italian spaghetti recipe. What a perfect meal for dinner right? Yes, if I weren’t such an airhead. I love tomatoes..and broccoli because well..when you put them together they’re Christmas colors and that’s my favorite holiday! πŸ™‚ Anyway, all day I was looking forward to making myself a big plate of spaghetti for dinner because it’s one of my all time favorite comfort foods. That was until I actually got to making it and realized that I got the WRONG can of tomatoes! Instead of buying a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce, I got two cans of diced tomatoes. Overall, the pasta is still delicious. I’m just so bummed I didn’t get spaghetti! Nothing speaks more love than a plate of oozing red goodness. I pretty much converted a italian spaghetti recipe to something my mom would make! Haha, don’t tell her I said that πŸ˜€
Photobucket

Here’s the recipe..
Diced Tomato & Beef Pasta
For the pasta:
1 package thin spaghetti
a pinch of salt
water for boiling

For “sauce”:
1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 lb ground pork
3 cloves minced garlic
1 stalk chopped green onions
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 egg
2 teaspoon oregano
1 tablespoon parsley
1 tablespoon basil
1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2-1 tablespoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes

1. Boil spaghetti according to packaged instructions
2. Combine ground beef and ground pork until well mixed.
3. In a separate bowl, beat an egg and add it to the meat mixture.
4. Stir in the egg
5. In a pan, heat olive oil. When it becomes hot enough, add in garlic.
6. When garlic starts to brown add in the meat mixture.
7. When the meat is half way cooked (almost all brown) add in all your spices.
8. When spices are all incorporated, the meat should almost be done or done.
9. Stir in green onions and diced tomatoes.
10. Cook for about 2 minutes.
11. Grab a plate and layer on some spaghetti noodles. Add a large heaping of the sauce and enjoy! πŸ™‚
Photobucket

Hope you try this! I grew up eating my tomatoes on the sweeter side because both of my parents didn’t like sour food. I love them either way. I’ll eat them in spaghetti, raw, or in this tomato/egg dish that my mom makes. If you’d like a more real tomato taste, just leave out the brown sugar. Some may still call this spaghetti but I don’t. It ain’t spaghetti till it’s oozing and covered with red goodness. Thanks for rolling by! πŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “diced tomato & beef pasta

  1. helennaturally

    Here is a tip: when you find yourself with diced tomatoes only, put in food processor and make them crushed tomatoes! That is actually what I use to make my marinara sauce!

    But your dish still looks yummy even if it isn’t traditional spaghetti πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Oooh! That’s a good idea but I don’t have a food processor at school. My mom’s hording it πŸ™‚ hehe Guess I’ll have to sneak away with it. I bought four cans and they were all diced 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

