ever heard of egg tarts?

I LOVE egg tarts. When I go dim sum or yum cha (drink tea) with my family I always get them. I guess technically they would be a egg custard tart. Regardless, they’re spankin delicious. After class yesterday I was bored because I had finished all my homework. When I’m bored I do one of two things, sleep or bake. I didn’t want to ruin my sleeping cycle so I decided to bake. I saw this awesome recipe on Baking Bites and I had to try it out. I’d be famous if I knew how to make homemade egg tarts! 🙂 At least among my family members I’d be famous. Unfortunately, they didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped. I ran out of sugar while making my ultimate brownies (recipe below) so I substituted brown sugar for regular granulated. I’m not sure if that was a good idea. I didn’t have a stand mixer or food processor with me so I tried my best to mix the butter and flour together. In the end, I thought the crust tasted like butter. Not exactly what I was hoping for. I’m sure it’s only because I didn’t mix it well enough 😦 so bummed! The custard part was fabulous. I love custards, they’re AH-MAZING. I also substituted the regular sugar with brown sugar for the custard part but I don’t think it made much of a difference. The color of the custard is a little darker but the taste was still the same. They didn’t look the way I wanted them to so no pictures here 😦 I might be getting my hands on a professional camera tomorrow! I’m so stoked. I can finally take some awesome pictures of my food.

Here’s the recipe..
Egg Tarts (adapted from Baking Bites)
for the crust:
1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
3 tablespoons regular granulated sugar (do NOT substitute)
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 stick of cold butter not room temperature
1 large egg

for the filling:
1/2 cup regular granulated sugar
1 cup milk
4 large egg yolks (I’m a macaron lover and I’ve made them on three separate occasions so I leave the egg whites for my macarons!)

1. In a food processor pulse flour, sugar, and salt together.
2. Cut the stick of butter into pieces and pulse with flour mixture.
3. After the butter is mixed with the flour, it should look like streusel topping. It’s suppose to be a little crumbly. Mix in the egg.
4. Pour dough into a ziploc bag and seal it without air. After it’s sealed, mold the dough into a large ball and place in the fridge for about 15 minutes.
5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
6. In a medium bowl, whisk sugar and egg yolks together.
7. Slowly whisk in milk.
8. Take dough out of fridge and pull dough into 10 even balls.
9. Take each ball of dough and press it into a cupcake pan. Make sure the bottom of the crust is as thick as the sides.
10. After all the crust are made, pour custard mixture into a measuring cup or something that can pour easily.
11. Pour the custard mixture into the crust. Be careful not to pour too much mixture or it will leak through the crust and cause a mess.
11. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

They’re amazing! I hope you take the time to try them out and send me pictures of yours. I would love to see some pictures of them made correctly. Don’t be like me! 😛 If you’re a custard person, you’ll love this recipe. Sorry for the lack of photos. I promise I’ll take some more. Tomorrow will be interesting! I’ll be attempting to make homemade samoa scones and samoa bars. Both recipes courtesy of Baking Bites. I love her. She’s amazing too. Her blog has homemade recipes for all the Girl Scout Cookies. How cool is that? 🙂 Thanks for comin by.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “ever heard of egg tarts?

  1. Justina Post author

    No problem! My best recommendation is to use a hand mixer/food processor. I didn’t want to wash extra dishes so I tried to blend the butter/flour by hand. Bad idea 😦 lol Also when you’re making the crust, be sure that the bottom is the same thickness as the sides. The bottom parts of the ones I made were twice as thick. For the custard, if you have foam try your best to take out as much of it. It’ll turn into bubbles in the custard after you bake it. The crust is a shortbread crust. I think next time I’ll use a pie crust so I get the different layers 🙂 Let me know how they turn out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

