blueberry pound cake

Photobucket
My mom threw a box of blueberries into my food bags last weekend so I’ve been contemplating what to make with the berries all week. I came to the conclusion of this delicious blueberry pound cake. At first I was thinking maybe blueberry muffins or blueberry crumb cake but I’ve already made both and I wanted to try something I haven’t made. That’s the thing with bakers, we’re always trying to bake things we haven’t to see if we can do it 🙂 Luckily, mine came out great. It was gorgeous with all the blueberries in there. I put more than the recipe called for but I don’t mind. I love blueberries.

Here’s the recipe..
Blueberry Pound Cake (found it on the internet..forgot which site =x hehe)
1 cup butter (2 sticks..I used 1 1/2 because I didn’t want to waste the stick I already used)
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour divided
1 teaspoon baking powder
4 eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pint or 2 cups blueberries (frozen is fine but I used fresh)

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
2. In a large bowl mix butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
3. Add one egg at time, mixing thoroughly after each addition.
4. Stir in vanilla, salt, and baking powder.
5. Mix in 2 cups of flour, 1 cup at a time.
6. In a separate bowl, combine 1 cup of remaining flour with blueberries.
7. Fold in the blueberry mixture with the other mixture until combined. Don’t mix with a mixer, do it by hand. You want the blueberries to be in tack.
8. Grease a bundht or tube pan very generously (take this step seriously because not enough grease will be your cake sticking and we don’t want that).
9. Pour batter into pan and bake at 325 degrees for about 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes. It really depends on the kind of oven you have. I baked mine for 1 hr and 5 minutes.
Photobucket
It’s absolutely gorgeous 🙂 I’ve never made pound cake before so this looked really yummy. Cut yourself a big slice and pour yourself a glass of milk! You’ll love it if you like blueberries.
Photobucket
As you can see from the slice I cut, I really didn’t skimp on the blueberries. It’s what adds flavor to the cake along with the vanilla extract. Thanks for reading 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “blueberry pound cake

  1. helennaturally

    Oh this cake looks wonderful! I am catching up on blog reading from my crazy meeting days at work. Being in a meeting all day surely drains you, I didn’t even want to turn on the computer,luckily I had scheduled my own posts ahead of time….lol! But all of the food you have had lately looks delish 🙂

    Reply
  2. Justina Post author

    Thank you!! 🙂 I wasn’t sure what to expect but it came out really delicious. Ohhh I totally know what you mean. Don’t you just want to take a nap after? Haha thanks 🙂 I have time to cook and bake now that I don’t have summer school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

