egg tarts version #2

I have a roomie and her name’s Joyce. We’re kinda like polar opposites most of the time. She gets up early, I sleep in. She sleeps early, I sleep late. I used to sleep early and she slept late. She goes to the gym, I sit on the couch and update my blog..you get the story 🙂 Well, we do have one thing in common. We love to bake. I think I could be categorized as a weekly baker. I bake pretty frequently even if it’s just breakfast goodies. She usually doesn’t bake that often but when she does, you can bet it’s something yummy. Well, except for the macarons she tried to make =x. I have to hand it to her, her egg tarts taste just like the kind you would get at dimsum or yum cha (drink tea). She was the one who inspired me to make macarons. I’m not all that into the different fancy desserts. I like my comfort foods like chocolate chip cookies and dark chocolate brownies. You don’t need to impress me with french macarons. She tried to make them 3 times and none of them worked out for her. I thought it was weird because she was a pretty good baker. After her third attempt failed, I rose to the challenge. I honestly didn’t think they were that difficult but after watching her struggle to make them I made a lot of adjustments and read tons of food blogs to find the perfect recipe. She used the french recipes and at first I tried it and it was eh so I switched to the italian method. It worked out pretty well for me but I’m not sure if it’s because I bake more than she does. Occasionally she’ll bake something but I do it on a spontaneous basis. I’m the kind of person that likes to conquer every baking challenge because I HAVE to know how to make it. It’s part of my baker pride. It’s very unsettling to know that I can’t bake something right. So far the only thing I’ve tried to bake and failed miserably at was eclairs. They were horrrrrrible! 😦 Anyway, back to the egg tarts. So delicious and light and crunchy. I want to eat another one as I’m writing this post! A must try recipe 🙂
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Egg Tarts (wendy in kk)
Pastry
250g plain flour (all purpose is fine)
2 tbsp castor sugar (she used regular)
1 egg yolk
150g cold butter, cubed

Filling
150g castor sugar
150ml hot water
250ml milk
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1 egg white (From the same egg where the yolk was used in the crust)

1. Using a kitchenaid or hand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar.
2. Once the mixture is light and fluffy, add in an egg yolk and mix.
3. Add in flour and mix again.
4. If you have tart tins or silicone molds, take a small ball of dough. roll it out with a rolling pin and mold it to your silicone molds or tins.
5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and place crust in refrigerator for 15 minutes to let the crust set.
6. While the crust is in the fridge, make the filling by dissolving the sugar in hot water.
7. In a medium bowl, pour the rest of the filling ingredients and mix with a kitchenaid or hand mixer. DO NOT DO THIS BY HAND! If you do, you will have egg whites in your egg tarts and it will be yellow and white instead of just yellow.
8. Add the sugar mixture to the egg mixture once it’s cooled down. Make sure it’s COOL and not WARM. If it’s warm, there’s a possibility that the warm water will cook the eggs.
9. Take crust out of fridge and pour filling into a measuring cup.
10. Using the measuring cup, pour filling into each tin or mold. Make sure you leave a little crust on the top. Do not be greedy and fill it to the brim. That will not make a pretty egg tart!
11. Bake for 25-30 minutes, let cool and enjoy.
Photobucket

My roomie made these. I just took the pictures and taste tested them 🙂 hehe She used flower silicone molds for the crust. She also used her scale to measure all the ingredients. This recipe made 12 egg tarts but I think you could get about 15 with them if you really tried. Thanks for stopping by!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

