banana bread

If there’s one bread I love, it’s banana bread. It’s absolutely de-li-cious 🙂 I definitely prefer banana bread over pumpkin bread. Not a real fan of pumpkin except pumpkin pie. Anyway, a few years ago I was browsing for recipes for banana bread online and I stumbled across a super easy one. This recipe doesn’t require a mixer. You can do everything by hand as long as the bananas are ripe and you melt yo butter 🙂 I made some for my mama because I had leftover bananas from my banana foster french toast.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Banana Bread (adapted from Simply Recipes)
3 ripe bananas mashed
1/4 cup melted butter
3/4 cups sugar (regular is fine)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (Good banana bread needs good extract. I’ve noticed that my roomie’s banana cake tasted more flavorful because she used madagascar vanilla and I used imitation)
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, combine your mashed bananas with your melted butter.
3. Mix in the egg, sugar, salt, baking soda, and vanilla.
4. Finally add in the flour and stir to combine.
5. Grease a loaf pan and pour in the batter.
6. Bake at 350 degrees for about 1hr to 1hr and 15 minutes. The time depends on what kind of oven you have.
Photobucket
Generally I don’t use a mixer for banana bread but since my bananas weren’t as ripe as I had hoped…I used my mixer 🙂 I usually like chunks of banana in my banana bread because it’s more flavorful. Or at least to me, it gives it a more banana-y taste. This time I had no chunks so it was slightly different. This recipe is great. If you like to add walnut or pecans or whatever feel free. Just know that the color of the top of your bread will be different. If the nuts are added into the batter or none are added, the top will be a dark brown color. If the nuts are sprinkled on top of the batter than the top will be a light brown color. I have yet to figure out why that is. Anyone know? 🙂 Enjoy em. Thanks for coming by

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “banana bread

  1. Helen

    Great job on the banana bread, and yes I agree good extract makes a world of difference. I try to stay away from imitation extracts unless it is the only one available 🙂

    Reply
  2. Justina Post author

    Thanks! 🙂 I’ve had the imitation for quite a while. I think I got it when I bought all my spices for my new apartment and they were pricy so I ended up with imitation 😦 lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

