trader joes

Photobucket
My mother is obsessed with dried fruit from Trader Joes. I went home for the weekend and she bombarded me with dried prunes and apricots. I hate both! The only dried fruit I will eat is dried mangoes. My one true love πŸ™‚ Don’t tell the bf that. Anyway, it was quite stuffy at home and the weather kept changing which only made my allergies so much worse. I got back to school about 2 hours ago and the weather is GREAT! No stuffy or humid weather. Perfect beach weather, just the way I like it. I decided to head over to Trader Joes to buy some juice and look at their baking section. I rarely go there because I like Albertsons and I know where everything is. Has that ever happened to you? You only go somewhere even though it’s a bit farther away because you know where everything is in that grocery store? I was pretty lost at Trader Joes. One of the workers was laughing because I said it was like a maze. I bought some romaine salad and it was hard to even get near the salad section. It was the busiest section of the whole store. When has that ever happened? Hmm..sorry for the lack of posts during the weekend. I was busy with family stuff. My grandma sprained her right forearm so I was being a dutiful granddaughter. Basically I was her slave for the weekend. I’m not sure if it was good or bad karma because when I left her house yesterday to go back home I slipped on some water near the sidewalk and fell. What’s the verdict? Several small cuts, 1 big unhealed cut, 3 small bruises, and 1 big bruise. I’m still in awe because I have a huge cut on my right foot but I fell on my knees. It really doesn’t make sense to me. I always got a bruise near my cut but I FELL ON MY KNEES! My knees? They’re perfectly fine. One scratch on the right knee, nada on the left. Like I said, still questioning karma 😦
Photobucket
Anyway, onto my goodies from Trader Joes. I really like their baking section. I could sort of see how my mom would want to buy everything. Everything BUT dried prunes and apricots. Yuck! πŸ˜› Definitely not a fan. I got some romaine salad, chocolate cake mix, and orange juice. The clerk told me that sometimes the orange juice taste different depending on what kinda oranges were used to make it. I never really had that happen before so we’ll see. I haven’t tried it yet. The chocolate cake mix looked absolutely gorgeous. It felt like I was buying something from Barefoot Contessa or Bakerella. The box is so cute.
Photobucket
I also got some almond milk, vanilla extract, balsamic vinegrette, cereal, and limeade. I got the almond milk to try with my healthy cereal. I read about almond milk on Helen’s blog so I wanted to give it a whirl. I’ll probably have some for breakfast tomorrow morning. The limeade is Ah-MAZING. I love limeade, lemonade, pretty much anything ade. The cereal looked good so I grabbed a box. I couldn’t decide which kind of milk to get because some of the recipes I want to try called for whole milk so I trusted Helen and went with almond milk. It’s vanilla flavored. There was the original but the vanilla one sounded more appealing. I am currently in the process of buying some cupcake holders so I can make chocolate cupcakes with chocolate expresso frosting. I’m also trying out sugar cookies for the first time. So you’re probably wondering what’s the big deal about sugar cookies? The ones I’ll be trying to make are going to be personalized sugar cookies for the bf. He comes home next month! πŸ™‚ They’re going to be his welcome home gift. I wanted to decorate the cookies with words and some other stuff so I’ve been reading Bake at 350 and Sweetopia pretty religiously. The only thing I’ve come up with so far is sanding sugar and words on the cookies. Any ideas? Buler…buler..help? Haha πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “trader joes

Leave a Reply

