ma po tofu

Photobucket
This tofu dish is one of my favorites. It’s one of my must haves when I’m home. My dad always seems to make it because one it’s pretty simple and two it doesn’t cost much. My mom and dad have different versions of it. My mom’s version is a little bit more flavorful but that’s with all her cooking. Sorry dad! 😛 Anyway, it goes great over a bowl of rice. I wasn’t sure about the name of the dish. I usually call it tofu with ground pork but it doesn’t sound very appealing. I’m still not sure what the “ma po” stands for. I’ll have to ask my dad when I get home.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Ma Po Tofu
1 container soft tofu (firm tofu is only good in soup!)
1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 lb ground pork
1 teaspoon garlic chili sauce
1 tablespoon hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 stalk green onion chopped

1. Sear pork and beef in a large wok or pan. Make sure the meat comes together.
2. Once the meat is seared, season with salt and pepper.
3. Add hoisin, oyster, and garlic chili sauce when the meat is half way done.
4. Cut tofu into little cubes and add to the large wok when the meat mixture is almost done.
5. When the meat is done and the tofu is warm, add in chopped green onions.
6. Stir to combine for about a minute. Serve over a bowl of white rice (or brown if you’re into that sorta thing).
Photobucket
I hope you enjoy this! 🙂 Since I’m living near school, it’s been kind of a ritual to have this dish every time I’m home. My dad is always happy to oblige to my needs for this dish to be at the table when it’s dinner time. My mom will only make it if my dad’s busy. Somehow, my dish taste different from theirs. So technically I know three versions of this dish but there’s probably more. It’s a fast recipe because I don’t have the patience to stand in the kitchen cooking all day. I mean I do it about five times a year but other than major holidays, you won’t see me in the kitchen all day. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

