coffee macarons w/buttercream filling

Photobucket
My post yesterday talked about how my roomie and I bake a lot at night. We take turns sampling the baked goodies we make 🙂 She made coffee macarons with irish cream buttercream. So far between the two of us, this attempt is probably the best. Or at least it looks the part because the macarons she made had pretty feet! 🙂 HOORAY for success! Italian way > french way any day. See roomie? You can’t give up even though the meringue doesn’t look like what it’s supposed to. She made these the italian way and the italian way calls for a sugar syrup. The sugar syrup can be pretty tricky without a candy thermometer. We didn’t have one so I told her to eyeball it and just make sure the sugar came to a boil. She sort of caramelized the sugar but that’s okay. The meringue worked out pretty well. It kind of scared me at first because it was the same consistency as glue. Anyway, the batter was really thick so I told her to add 1/2 a teaspoon of water. It turned out pretty well after that. The shells dried in record time and she had them baking. She used Bailey’s irish cream in the buttercream filling. My KitchenAid mixer does wonders. Yesterday was the first time that I’ve seen buttercream be made successfully. I made coffee macarons my 2nd attempt and it called for a buttercream filling. My buttercream filling was so disgusting that I melted chocolate and added that in to thicken the consistency. Nevertheless it was quite tasty. I haven’t tried these yet but they look really yummy. Thanks for reading 🙂
Photobucket
Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “coffee macarons w/buttercream filling

    1. Justina Post author

      Thank you! Unfortunately they’re my roomies and she only has 4 left 😦 When I make them again, I’ll be sure to save you some 🙂 hehe baking at night is more relaxing than baking during the day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

