a fund for jennie

As many bloggers may have seen on other blogs, Jennie Perillo (a fellow food blogger) lost her husband to a sudden heart attack. She is now a single mother of two daughters, age 3 and 8. My thoughts and prayers go out to her. I can’t imagine growing up without my father. He has been my back bone and the reason I am who I am today. Please donate for Jennie and her daughters. Jennie was denied widow money from social security because she made “too much money.” Grieving for a loved one is hard enough as it is. Jennie doesn’t need to carry a financial burden on her shoulders. She has to pay her mortgage and health insurance which are both quite pricy on it’s own.

Donate to Bloggers Without Borders
Reading Jennie’s story truly touched my heart. I’ve always been a daddy’s girl and I remember times when I was younger my older sister would be jealous because I always got my way. Daddy made sure I always got my way. Jennie’s story made me appreciate my father so much more. He’s always been my back bone. He supported me in whatever I wanted to do even when my mother was hesitant. He’s always proud of all the things I’ve accomplished. He is the reason I am who I am today and I will be forever grateful for all he has sacrificed for me. I don’t know what I’d do without him. Daddy was the one who funded my baking schemes in high school. We’d go to the grocery store and he’d laugh as I ran to the baking aisle to get my cake mix or brownie mix. He’d eat whatever I handed him and told me it taste good even when I knew it didn’t. He’d yell at other people when they said what I made didn’t taste good. He used to take my sister and I to the grocery store and we got to ride on the ponies and helicopters that were outside. He’d try to ride it with us but wouldn’t fit. Such amazing memories for the most important man in my life. The one who taught me the difference between right and wrong.

It troubles me deeply to know that Jennie’s little girls won’t have the same memories I do. At the age of 3, it’s hard to remember a person. A few memories here and there but not a whole lot. At the age of 8, it’s hard to understand why a person isn’t there anymore. I lost my grandpa to lung cancer when I was 4 years old. I hardly remember anything about him other than the fact that he always took my sister out to dimsum and I wasn’t allowed to go because I wasn’t old enough. That is the only memory I have of him. My heart goes out to Jennie and her family. It’s especially hard because it was so sudden. They never had a chance to say goodbye. It just makes you think about all the times you should have said something but you didn’t. The times you could have said something but you didn’t. The hardest part about moving on is knowing that you never got to say goodbye. Please help Jennie and her girls. The reason I wanted to be a part of the food blogging community is because we’re like family. We’re like family even though we don’t know one another. We’re like family even though we’ve never met. We’re like family because we do whatever it takes to help each other in times of need. Thank you for reading this.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

