samoa cupcakes

Photobucket
The bf came home yesterday and I was wondering what to make him. After all the time contemplating whether or not I should make the personalized sugar cookies, I made him cupcakes instead. He wanted samoa bars but I made the cupcakes because they’re easier. I found a recipe for brown sugar butter cupcakes online. I changed the toppings to a caramel buttercream frosting and added caramel sauce and toasted coconut. The recipe says to bake it for 20-22 minutes but that’s a little much. I think it really depends on what kind of oven you have. I baked mine for 20 minutes and they were a bit dry. Nevertheless, the bf liked them 🙂 He did make a huge face when there wasn’t any chocolate drizzled on top of the frosting. So please don’t be like me. DON’T forget the chocolate. I didn’t forget, I chose to leave it out because I used all of my chocolate chips for chocolate chip cookies. I toasted the coconut for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees while stirring after every 5. I used store bought caramel sauce because making my own would be wayyy too complicated. Did I mention I did this at 11pm at night? 🙂 There really isn’t anything like midnight baking. It’s my true love.

Here’s the recipe..
Samoa Cupcakes (Chockylit)
12 regular cupcakes / 350 degree oven
3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

1. Beat butter on high until soft, about 30 seconds.
2. Add sugar. Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
3. Add eggs one at a time, beat for 30 seconds after each.
4. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
5. Measure out milk and vanilla together.
6. Add about a fourth of the flour to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine.
7. Add about one third the milk/vanilla mixture and beat until combined.
8. Repeat above, alternating flour and milk and ending with the flour mixture.
9. Scoop into cupcake papers about half to three-quarters full.
10. Bake for 20-22 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy em! Photo credit to my old roomie. She got a dslr. I’m jealous! 😦 Anyway, thanks for stoppin by.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

4 thoughts on “samoa cupcakes

  1. Justina Post author

    You’re welcome! Brown sugar butter cupcakes sound a little strange but they’re actually quite tasty. My biggest recommendation is to watch the time if you make them. I think checking on them at 15 minutes is good because I did 20 and they were already a bit dry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

