mooncake festival

Photobucket
I’m finally home from school. Due to my mom’s request I’ll be home for a week because of the moon cake festival. I have a lot of American recipes on this blog but I love Chinese recipes. Chinese holidays are the best. I mean we get red envelopes with money for Chinese New Years so what’s not to like right? The moon cake festival is also known as the mid-autumn festival or lantern festival. The names are interchangeable according to my mom. I call it the moon cake festival because that’s my favorite part. I love moon cakes. All cultures have distinct desserts that make the culture the way it is and moon cakes are no different. Since both of my parents are traditional Chinese, we celebrate all the important holidays that people in China, Singapore, Malaysia, and Vietnam celebrate. I think the festival is in all those places. Don’t quote me on that. I’m pretty Americanized. If there’s a Chinese dessert that I love, it’s those darn moon cakes. Now don’t let those babies fool you. They’re as pricy as they come. Usually they come in a tin box with four inside. They’re individually packaged and have writing/symbols on the outside. Please don’t ask me what they mean because I have no clue. I asked my mom but she just rolled her eyes at me so I’m guessing I SHOULD know. I don’t though so don’t ask šŸ™‚ Haha, they have a variety of flavors. My recommendations are stick with the traditional flavors like red bean paste, white lotus, and lotus. They have flavors like green tea and pineapple. It sounds appealing, I thought it was genius but it taste disgusting. The red bean paste one is my absolute favorite! I can eat them all by myself. Not that I would do such a thing. Aside from the different flavors, each moon cake either has a egg inside or it doesn’t. I prefer the ones that don’t have the egg. My parents agree with me but my sister likes the ones with the egg. The egg takes away the sweetness of the moon cake which is why I don’t like it. Here are a few pictures of the ones my mom has at home. She likes to cut them into tiny pieces because she says they are sweet. I eat them whole if I can get away with it!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Apparently, moon cakes are so expensive that you have to pre-order them at bakeries. They usually go for about $20 a box if they find a good deal. Like I said, they’re quite pricy. I’m not exactly sure how the festival actually works because I’ve never seen it in person (my mom says the one in China is the best). At home we usually go into the back yard and sit in lawn chairs sharing different moon cakes. We also light incense. Technically we’re suppose to have lanterns and such but my parents stopped doing that when my sister and I got older. I believe the purpose of the festival is to gather with your family under the moon and eat moon cakes. My mom muttered something about worshiping the moon. I asked why but she just rolled her eyes again! šŸ˜¦ That’s happening a lot today. This holiday is a staple in Chinese culture so it goes back a long time. Feel free to correct me if anything I said is wrong. I apologize if I have a bazillion grammar errors in this post. I’m in the middle of making egg rolls right now. I will be posting the recipe tomorrow. Hopefully I can get a step by step approach from my mom on how to make them. I have to learn regardless. The bf said he wants something asian..like that helps. Somehow, being the genius that I am I suggested egg rolls even though I don’t know how to make them. There’s a first time for everything. I think I’m going to have a lot more Chinese recipes coming soon. Egg rolls, char siu (bbq pork), gai bao (chicken bun), & vu heow bao (taro bun). Thanks for reading šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

