lemon ricotta pound cake

I got back to school yesterday and totally thought someone tried to break into my apartment. My roommates window screen was taken off and propped against the wall. Turns out it was my other roommate who did it because my first roommates alarm clock kept going off. It was quite hilarious. Would you ever do that? Try to break into your roommates room because of her alarm clock? That’s kind of scary actually. Anyway, I had my friend Jenny over to bake yesterday. Well..I had her over because I was trying to build my bookcase and it just wasn’t working out for me. I put some of the connector pieces in the wrong places and they wouldn’t come off. She totally built it for me so yay! Hooray for cool friends who can build things 🙂 I made some char siu and she helped me make the lemon ricotta pound cake. I also fried her some egg rolls because I pay people with food when they help me do things. It’s just the kinda girl I am. I found this recipe on Two Peas and Their Pod because I had leftover ricotta cheese and I didn’t know what to do with it. I was extremely surprised that when I tasted the cake, it tasted like the kind from the cake box. I never made a cake that taste like the one’s from the cake box. It was pretty interesting.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Lemon Ricotta Pound Cake (adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod)
1 1/2 cups of cake flour
2 lemons zested
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 1/2 + 1 tablespoon sugar
2 sticks of butter
1 1/2 cup ricotta cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a bundht pan and set aside.
2. Mix cheese, butter, and sugar together.
3. Add in eggs one at a time.
4. Add salt, vanilla, and lemon zest and mix to combine.
5. Add baking powder and mix again.
6. Slowly add flour and mix until everything is combined. Pour into prepared bundht pan.
7. Bake at 350 degrees for an hour.
8. Poke holes in the cake with a fork or tooth pick and pour a glaze over it (optional).
Photobucket
Say hi to Jenny 🙂 She was helping me zest the lemons.
Photobucket
Enjoy it! 🙂 There’s lots of lemon in every bite. Thanks for stopping by.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “lemon ricotta pound cake

Leave a Reply

