pork stew

I love simple recipes. I would totally waste my time making macarons just to show people I can. Apparently it means you’re a pretty bad ass baker if you can make nice macarons. I’ll get fancy when I bake but not when I cook. I like to stick to things that I know how to make and well…cooking has never been my strong point. I leave all the cooking to my mother 🙂 Except for major holidays, that’s when she’ll nag me to cook. Anyway, I’ve been feeling under the weather lately (it’s raining today and I hate rain!) so I decided to try and make a stew. I found the recipe in Pam Anderson’s cookbook. If you want to know more about her you can go to the Pioneer Woman’s website. I sort of forgot what her blog is. Three Many Cooks? Sorry Pam! 😦 She had a recipe for pork stew and looking at it made me drool a little so I had to make it. Rain calls for comfort food like pork stew! Now I can go home and tell my mom I know how to make pork stew! She probably won’t believe me though.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Pork Stew (adapted from Pam Anderson)
2lb pork shoulder cut into 1in. squares
4 tablespoons olive oil divided
3 stalks of carrots chopped
4 medium golden potatoes cubed
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups chicken broth
1 cup red wine (PLEASE use the good stuff! I stole some from my dad. Not much of a wine drinker myself)
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 large onion diced
1 tablespoon fresh parsley or thyme (I used parsley)

1. In a large pot, season your pork with salt and pepper. Add in 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sear the pork on both sides. Probably about 5 minutes on each side.
2. Put pork onto a plate and dump in the diced onion. Add the 3 tablespoons of flour and whisk until it’s combined. Be careful with this step. I sort of hate recipes with flour or cornstarch because I never whisk it enough and it burns. So don’t be like me!
3. Once the onions have cooked for about 3 minutes, add the chicken broth and red wine. Stir to combine.
4. Add the pork back into the pot and cook on medium heat for about 30-45 minutes. After 30-45 minutes, add in the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil, carrots, potatoes, and parsley or thyme. Cook for another 30 minutes or until the potatoes and carrots are fork tender.
5. Ladle into a bowl and enjoy with some bread 🙂

The recipe originally calls for prunes which I despise. So no prunes in this stew. Pam also used sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. I like both but I only had the regular kind so that’s what I used. I also don’t own a dutch oven so I stewed the soup on the stove. It works just fine as long as you don’t burn anything 🙂 Happy reading!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “pork stew

Leave a Reply

