green tea macarons

My macaron attempts are starting to amuse me. This is my fifth time making them and my second time using the french method. I’m pretty sure I overbeat the egg whites because my batter was stiffer than usual. I thought it would be okay since it was as stiff as the first time I tried making green tea macarons but it didn’t have feet! I was pretty disappointed just in case you can’t tell.
Photobucket
Please don’t be afraid of my creepy hands πŸ™‚ Thanks! Haha

Here’s the recipe..
Green Tea Macarons With Buttercream filling (Cake Journal)
1 1/8 cup almond flour
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
3 egg whites
4 tablespoons granulated sugar
a pinch of salt
1/8 cup green tea powder

1. In a stand mixer, beat egg whites till foamy. Add the pinch of salt and then the sugar one tablespoon at a time.
2. While the egg whites are beating, mix the rest of the ingredients together in a bowl.
3. When the meringue is ready, add in the dry ingredients and mix to combine. Do NOT mix more than 50 strokes.
4. Put the batter in a piping bag and pipe 1 inch circles onto parchment paper.
5. Let it dry for an hour.
6. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
7. Bake for 12 minutes at 300 degrees.
8. Once the cookies have cooled, use whatever filling you like. I had leftover buttercream so I used that. You could try a white chocolate ganache.
Photobucket
These are pretty simple. Just don’t over beat the egg whites like I did 😦
Photobucket
This bag is for my friend Jenny. I told her I was making some and she specifically said not to share them with anyone..I thought that was pretty hilarious πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

One thought on “green tea macarons

Leave a Reply

