libbys pumpkin pie

I’m no expert about grocery stores but usually around Thanksgiving Albertsons and Ralphs will have lots of pumpkin puree on sale. They’re amazing for catering to the lazy bakers (like myself) who don’t want to go through the hassle of making their own pumpkin puree. I was driving back to school yesterday when I was thinking about Thanksgiving. I didn’t know what to make. My sister had signed up for making mashed potatoes, garlic cheese bread, and sausage stuffing. Now if you haven’t already figured it out, I’m quite the sweet tooth. I love desserts. In fact, I thrive on them. They’re my sense of purpose. So to be honest..mashed potatoes, garlic cheese bread, and sausage stuffing sound delicious. I love those three foods. They’re a staple to my Thanksgiving festivities ever since I learned how to make them. They’re amazing yes, BUT they are not DESSERTS. I love pumpkin pie. Call me old fashion but you can always wow me with some good ole pumpkin pie. It comes second to my favorite pie which is chocolate mousse on an oreo crust. Since Thanksgiving is around the corner, I wanted to post my second attempt at pumpkin pie. My first attempt using store bought pumpkin puree. I was really craving pumpkin pie but I didn’t want to cheat too much. Being a baker, I take pride in my baking..so I bought pumpkin puree, evaporated milk, and a frozen pie crust. The results? De-li-cious! Taste like the pumpkin pies at Marie Calender’s. It’s called Libbys famous pumpkin pie because it’s the recipe on the pumpkin puree can. Can’t go wrong with those.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Pumpkin Pie (Libbys)
1 can pumpkin puree 12 oz
1 can evaporated milk 12 oz
2 eggs
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
a pinch of salt
1 9 inch pie crust (frozen or make your own!!)
disclaimer: please don’t be like the lady I met at the grocery store yesterday..she thought you could make pumpkin pie with store bought graham cracker crust and libby’s pumpkin pie filling..that is NOT okay!! You will burn your crust to smithereens before your filling is cooked! Pumpkin pie with graham cracker crust are usually made from scratch crusts and the filling is pumpkin puree, not pumpkin pie filling.

1. Preheat oven to 425.
2. In a large bowl, whisk eggs together (scrambled).
3. Add pumpkin puree.
4. Add all dry ingredients and stir.
5. Pour in evaporated milk and stir to combine.
6. Pour pumpkin filling into your pie crust.
7. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes and then reduce to 350 and bake for 50 minutes.
8. Let pie cool for about 2 hrs on a wire rack before cutting into it. The filling has to set. If you cut into it too early it could become quite mushy in the middle. The filling might not hold together because it’s still hot.

It’s really amazing. I love it. I kind of regret telling other people I would share with them o_o Enjoy šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

