chocolate chip waffles

I’m happy to report that I’m finally back to the blogging world! The past two weeks consisted of studying for finals, studying for finals, and ordering take out everyday. I’m not joking about that last one either. For those of you who have done the same, I totally felt your pain. It was pretty brutal! 😦 I’m also happy to report that I’m done! WINTER BREAK IS ON! 🙂 My sister got me an early Christmas gift in the form of a Cuisinart waffle maker! I love it! I had to try to make some this morning and they were pretty delish.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Chocolate Chip Waffles (adapted from Cuisinart)
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cup pure silk dark chocolate almond milk
6 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup hershey’s special dark chocolate chips

1. Mix all ingredients together until it comes together in a creamy mixture. I didn’t have any baking powder on hand so I went without it but the waffles turned out delicious regardless! I also opted to use dark chocolate almond milk. Lauren from Lawfully Wedded Wife recommended that I try it. It’s the business.
2. Preheat waffle maker according to instructions! If you have the Cuisinart one, I preheated mine at the 3.
3. Pour about 1/2 cup of batter onto the maker and spread with a wooden utensil. Metal utensils will scratch the surface of the maker if it’s a nonstick one (I’m assuming most are!).
Photobucket
The waffles are sweet by themselves so I felt no need to make a syrup for them. I would have added strawberries or some other kind of fruit if I had any but I didn’t. Check back for more recipes on waffles. I plan on making regular ones with strawberries and syrup! 🙂 These are pretty filling. I only ate one full waffle and I was already full. If I was hungry I’d probably eat two. They’re huge by the way. I’m also in the process of looking for belgian waffle recipes. Enjoy them and thanks for reading.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

