baked salmon

Photobucket
Two days in a row?! That’s when you know you’re on vacay. Anyway, yesterday my sister and I made dinner together. One of the very rare times that will happen! My dad recently injured his right hand so he was out of commission. My mom was at work so my sister recruited (forced) me to help her make dinner. Needless to say, I believe I did all the heavy lifting! I decided to make mashed potatoes with leftover ingredients from Thanksgiving. I also wanted to make my mother’s famous shrimp and eggs. I’ll post the recipes next week. I discovered her secret to cooking when she showed me how to make them earlier in the year. She adds black sesame oil to EVERYTHING. That’s why it taste so good. Who would have thought? I steamed some veggies and my sister made rice and baked salmon. I’m not really a big fan of salmon unless it’s in sushi. Most restaurants don’t know how to cook it properly and it ends up real dry and gross. The salmon I had yesterday was poooooifect. I’m not kidding either. My sister rarely cooks because I do all the cooking so it’s like a solar eclipse when I praise her cooking. Really, it is.
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Baked Salmon (adapted from allrecipes)
2 cloves of garlic minced
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1-2 tablespoons parsley
2 6 oz. pieces of salmon (fillets or actual pieces)
sliced lemon pieces for garnishing (optional)
foil

1. Make the marinade by combining all ingredients except the salmon. After it is combined, add the salmon and turn occasionally.
2. Marinade in the fridge for at least an hour.
3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
4. Place salmon in foil. One piece of foil per piece. Add marinade on top of the salmon and garnish with one or two lemon slices. Seal the foil and place in a glass baking pan.
5. Bake for 35-45 minutes at 375 degrees.

It’s super juicy! Definitely one of my favorite salmon dishes. It taste similar to the one I had at Charlie Palmer except without the bread crumbs on top. Enjoy 🙂 Thanks for coming by.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

