mama’s famous shrimp & eggs

Photobucket
I love my mom’s cooking. There’s nothing else in the world like it. I grew up on my great grandmother’s cooking and I was so sad when she passed because I missed her cooking. She was an amazing woman. Every time certain dishes are made I always think of her. There are very few dishes that my grandmother and mother make that are the same as my great grandmother’s (BOO!). I’m sure if you know what I’m talking about, you all feel the same way. There’s just no comparison to a home cooked meal by the people you hold closest to your heart. This shrimp and eggs recipe comes from my mother. I love how my grandmother adapted from my great grandmother’s cooking and my mother adapted from my grandmother’s. I call it mama’s famous shrimp & eggs because for the LONGEST time, I couldn’t replicate her recipe. It just didn’t taste the same. I’d always want to go home because I knew a plate of shrimp and eggs was waiting for me! šŸ™‚

Here’s the recipe..
Mama’s Famous Shrimp & Eggs
1/2 lb peeled shrimp
7-8 eggs
1 green onion chopped (optional)
1 teaspoon black sesame oil
a pinch of salt
drizzle of vegetable oil

1. Crack the eggs in a large bowl and whisk. Add salt, black sesame oil, and green onions.
2. In a medium wok or frying pan, drizzle a little vegetable oil and fry the shrimp until just done.
3. Pour the shrimp into the bowl of scrambled eggs and mix to combine. This part is important!
4. Pour egg mixture back into the wok or frying pan and cook until the eggs are done.

This is one of my favorite Chinese dishes. It could be found in Chinese restaurants too but there’s nothing like the home cooked version. Most Chinese restaurants opt to have the honey walnut shrimp (another favorite) instead of shrimp and eggs. If you have regular sesame oil instead of black sesame oil you could use it but be warned that the taste will not be the same. Black sesame oil has a distinct taste and I find that it’s a lot stronger and more flavorful than the regular kind. I’ve never really used the regular kind now that I think about. Always use the black kind šŸ™‚ Enjoy! More recipes of mashed potatoes, desserts, and muffins to come.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

