gingerbread stuffed waffles

Today’s post is a guest post by Helen from Helen, Naturally. She was kind enough to do a guest post for me so here it is! 🙂 I’m still having some trouble with links showing up on my blog so if you would like to see her blog you could find it under my blogroll section on the right.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Photobucket
Hello Fail Sweetly readers! My name is Helen and I blog over at Helen, Naturally. I was really excited to get Justina’s email asking if I was interested in doing a guest post for her 🙂
Now for those of you that do not know me, well I have an addiction to breakfast foods. I really do! If you check out my recipe page you will immediately notice that I have way more breakfast recipes than any other. So of course for this reason I have decided to share with you guys one of my favorite Christmas season breakfasts!!

Gingerbread Stuffed Waffles
• 1/2c unbleached all purpose flour
• 1/2c oat flour
• 2T. ground flaxseed
• 2T. wheat germ
• 1t ground nutmeg
• 1/4t cloves
• 1T cinnamon
• 1/4t all spice
• 1/4t ginger
• 1T sugar
• 1 egg
• 1-2T molasses
• 1/2c milk

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix. Cook on a waffle iron, makes 2 waffles.
2. Use apple butter/nut butter and smear onto the waffle pieces.
3. Place your choice of sliced fruit on top of one waffle (I use apples) then place the second waffle on top.
4. Drizzle with maple syrup, honey, or you can just use some more apple/nut butter.

They are really tasty and filling. You can use any kind of fruit that you want as the stuffing. We have a lot of apples around here so that is what I used. I have made stuffed waffles with bananas before and they are just as tasty!!
At first it may seem a little daunting with a long ingredient list, but I promise you that it is very simple to put together and make. It doesn’t require a lot of time in the kitchen. Which of course is important when planning foods during the holiday season right? After all you would rather spend time with the family or shopping as opposed to spending a couple of hours on a breakfast!!
So I truly hope that you will give this recipe a try. Even better, I hope some of you will play around and come up with your own ideas for stuffed waffles! To me I feel really blessed when I have inspired someone with one of my recipes.
Merry Christmas to you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

