chicken pot pie

It’s almost Christmas! Christmas is always a mystery with my family. Not because we’re mysterious about it but I never know what to expect at the dinner table. Some years we have Chinese food, some years we have hotpot, and sometimes we have a traditional American Christmas dinner. Whatever we have, it’s still my favorite holiday. I love the decorations. Yesterday I made a chicken pot pie for my brother. Yes, you read correctly. He requested a chicken pot pie as a Christmas gift. It was awkward because I thought to myself if I should wrap it. Then I thought to myself, if I wrap it what can I use other than foil and saran wrap? I didn’t end up wrapping it just in case you’re curious! 🙂
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Chicken Pot Pie (adapted from the PW)
1 big bag diced seasoned chicken (I used the frozen kind and it yield about 4 cups diced chicken)
1 12 oz can chicken broth
1 cup heavy cream
4 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cup frozen mixed vegetables
1/2 cup grated monterey jack cheese
1 pie crust (I made my own using the PW recipe)
Salt and pepper to taste

1. In a medium pot, melt butter.
2. Once the butter is melted, add the chicken and coat in butter.
3. When the chicken looks evenly coated, add flour. You can use cornstarch if you want but I’d cut back on the salt as cornstarch probably has more salt than flour.
4. Mix thoroughly and cook for about 2-3 minutes. The flour needs to be evenly incorporated or else it’ll burn at the bottom and we don’t want that!
5. Pour in the can of chicken broth and stir to combine.
6. Pour in the heavy cream and stir again.
7. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
8. Add in frozen vegetables and monterey jack cheese, keep stirring. You want the mixture to be a slightly thick cream.
9. Add salt and pepper to taste. You could also add fresh herbs if you have them. Once the mixture starts bubbling, it’s done. Don’t bring to a full boil.
10. Pour into a 13 x 9 inch glass baking dish and cover with pie crust. Cut slits in the crust to allow pie to vent and bake at 400 degrees for half an hour. Let cool for at least 20-30 minutes and enjoy! 🙂 It’s delicious.
Photobucket
If you’re wondering why the crust on my pot pie looks so disgusting it’s because my mother decided to HIDE her rolling pin. She has at least three and she hid them all! I had to roll out the crust by hand. As in taking little pieces of pie crust and smashing it between my hands. It was quite the work out. I’m just kidding, about the work out thing. He ate the entire pie by the way. More tomorrow on my trip to Factory Tea Bar with my sister and how my family does hotpot. Happy holidays!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

