hotpot & factory tea bar

Photobucket
Merry Christmas Eve to all! Today was an early day and my sister, dad, aunt, cousin, and I went to Rose Hills Cemetery to visit my great grandmother and grandfather. It’s a yearly tradition that we go the week before Christmas. My dad had work so it delayed the trip. I’ve been eyeing the food blogger cookie swap and I saw some great recipes. I was planning on making white chocolate macadamia nut cranberry cookies that I saw on Okie Dokie Artichokie BUT all the grocery stores I went to didn’t have any macadamia nuts. I had to settle for pecans. I’m so bummed! 😦 I know they won’t taste the same but hopefully they’ll still be tasty. Today I’m blogging about a Christmas tradition my mother started. One year she was super lazy and didn’t want to cook on Christmas day (because she does most of the cooking) so she decided she wanted to have hotpot for dinner. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the term “hotpot,” it’s kind of like a you cook for yourself type of thing.
Photobucket
That’s what it looks like. It’s a hotpot stove with a pot. There’s a divider in the middle because it separates the regular broth from the spicy broth. Usually we have lamb, pork, fish balls, shrimp, veggies, and etc. I would like to post a recipe for the broth but I have no idea what’s in it. There’s a bunch of Chinese herbs that I don’t know how to translate into English (please excuse my American side).
Photobucket
Photobucket
On Tuesday my sister took me grocery shopping for pumpkin pie ingredients. Apparently I’m the pumpkin pie baker now. My uncle insisted I bring him two of them tomorrow (we’re having Christmas dinner at his house). My cousin (who’s his daughter) knows how to make them too but I guess she’s not baking any this year. My sister and I also went to Factory Tea Bar which is a new tea house that opened near our city. I’ve been meaning to try the house special caramel brick toast but it was a bad idea because it was HUGE. I thought the ice cream would be 3 scoops max but when I counted them it had to have been 6 or more. I also ordered mango green tea with pudding. It was a hit! 🙂 The toast was amazing but the portion was huge. My sister and I couldn’t finish it and we laughed when the guy behind the counter asked if we wanted to take it to go. My sister has been my chauffeur for the week. She drove us to Rose Hills today and she also drove me to the grocery store and picked me up a slurpee at 7 eleven. Does anyone remember going to the store to get a slurpee on a hot summer day? Those were the days! I haven’t had one of those babies since I was in middle school. It was delicious 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Happy Holidays!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “hotpot & factory tea bar

  1. Stephanie Russell (@StephRussell26)

    Hi Justina! What a wonderful spread you have going up there. I’ve been to several “hotpot” restaurants and I always love how interactive it is for the guests who can choose what they want to eat and how to cook it! It’s a lovely idea and so much fun. 🙂 I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. So nice to meet you!

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Thank you! 🙂 I hope you and your family have a great Christmas and prosperous New Year. It’s great meeting you too. My family loved the cookies. My aunt said she could tell they were going to be amazing without tasting them because they looked good! haha 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

