christmas at grams

This years Christmas dinner was held at my grandmother’s house. My mom made Chinese pastries called ham sui goks and zeen doi. The “ham sui goks” are salty with a meat and veggie filling and are shaped like large dumplings. The “zeen dois” are like sesame balls without the sesame. My mom has gotten pretty good at making them over the years. These were her best ones yet! Anyway, here are some pictures of the food, and desserts taken today. I hope everyone had an amazing Christmas. I made away with a set of new plates, a cast iron skillet, a waffle maker, a baking sheet, and socks. But I didn’t take any pictures of them.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
The last picture is my favorite. I used the recipe posted by Okie Dokie Artichokie for these cookies. My mom raved about them. She declared them the best homemade cookies she’s tasted. My mom isn’t very big on sweets. She’s the type that eats sweets but it can’t be TOO sweet and she always says my baking is too sweet. She stole a good dozen of these and hid them. I’m not joking either. I went into the dining room to see if they were cooled and they were gone. The recipe will be coming soon! Tomorrow I’ll be posting a tutorial about how to make california rolls, salmon rolls, and california rolls with unagi. Have a great Christmas!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

