vanilla cupcakes

Photobucket
I’m better! Hooray for sweets again. I’m so excited it’s not even funny. As some of you know, I had a long battle with a bacterial infection starting the day after Christmas until now. I’m almost done with the antibiotics so I should be as good as new in a few days. My friend from New York rolled his eyes at me because I begged and pleaded for a new camera as my birthday present. It’s not my birthday yet but HOLY COW! I love it πŸ™‚ I tested out my new camera by baking up some yummy cupcakes. My current roommate Maggie isn’t a fan of chocolate so I made her vanilla cupcakes. I also saved the rest to give away to family for Chinese New Years. My mother requested that I come home next weekend. She said she doesn’t care what’s going on..how nice of her right? Anyway, I’m a big fan of boxes cake mixes. I always say you can’t go wrong with them but sometimes you can. Red velvet? Not a fan. My sister made some from the box mix once and it was grody. I’m not a fan of red velvet. Chocolate all the way man! πŸ™‚ I used two different toppings. One topping was caramel topping sauce and heath bar bits and the other topping was Hershey’s special dark chocolate syrup and brown jimmies. I aspire to be a cupcake decorator. It’s pretty fun πŸ™‚
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe..
Vanilla Cupcakes w/buttercream frosting
1 box vanilla cake mix baked according to instructions
heath bar bits
approximately 1-2 cups buttercream frosting
a piping tip
caramel topping sauce
brown jimmies
Hershey’s special dark chocolate syrup

buttercream frosting:
4 egg whites
1 cup of granulated sugar
3 sticks unsalted butter

1. Bake cupcakes according to instructions.
2. Let cupcakes cool while you make the buttercream frosting (it takes awhile).
3. Pipe buttercream frosting using a piping tip onto your cooled cupcakes.
4. Drizzle caramel sauce or chocolate syrup onto the buttercream frosting.
5. Sprinkle caramel sauce cupcakes with heath bar bits and chocolate syrup cupcakes with brown jimmies.
Photobucket
Enjoy em! πŸ™‚ I really like the turn out of the pictures of the chocolate syrup cupcakes.
Photobucket
The caramel sauce ones look nice too! πŸ™‚
Photobucket
What can I say? I’m pretty much a cupcake freak. I spend my days dreaming about cupcakes from Dots Cupcakes (Pasadena), Mrs.Beasley’s (Pasadena), and Sprinkles (Newport Beach). Thanks for coming by! πŸ™‚ I’ll be updating more about Chinese New Years and what all the different dishes represent. It’s quite interesting after my mom explained everything to me πŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “vanilla cupcakes

Leave a Reply

