chinese new year!

I hope everyone had a great Chinese New Year! 🙂 Filled with lots of luck, red envelopes, and of course food.
This is a picture of Hainese chicken
Photobucket
This picture is more complicated..there’s abalone, broccoli, carrots, snow pea, water chestnuts, dried scallops, mushrooms, and the black hair like thing in the middle. You might cringe if you haven’t heard or seen it before but make no mistake people. It’s de-li-cious.
Photobucket
This is fish with sauteed green onions, ginger, and soy sauce
Photobucket
Vermicelli noodles are also a staple.
Photobucket
I think these are called water chestnuts? Correct me if I’m wrong..my mom didn’t know what they were called in English and neither do I!
Photobucket
Nothing like bright kumquats to ring in the new year! 🙂
Photobucket
My mom also got me a birthday cake from Cathy Bakery. It’s a mocha cake with strawberries, kiwis, and grapes on top. You probably haven’t heard the combination before unless you’re used to asian bakeries.
Photobucket
That’s me trying to cut my cake while people kept distracting me! Haha
Photobucket
It’s not my birthday yet. I can’t believe I’ll be turning 23 this Thursday. Sometimes time just flies by too fast. Come this June I will be considered a college graduate and possible graduate student. That sounds unbelievably scary. Anyway, have a great Chinese New Year! Gong Hai Faat Toy 🙂

On a side note, I hope everyone in the Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Georgia area is okay. I can’t believe the devastation the tornado caused. The pictures were heart wrenching. For those living in Clay County Alabama, rest assure Team Rubicon will be there if they’re not already there. I have all of you in my prayers.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

