quick char siu fried rice

When it comes to cooking, I’m kind of super lazy..just in case I haven’t told you all yet. I don’t like prepping because it takes forever and I’m not very good at it even if it doesn’t take forever. I thrive on recipes that I can whip up in 5 to 10 minutes. Yes, it’s all because I’m lazy. I still have my college student genes stuck in me. I scanned the fridge in the morning and there really wasn’t anything appetizing. I decided to check the freezer and my eyes stared at the packaged of frozen mixed vegetables. FRIED RICE! So I double checked the fridge to make sure it had leftover rice and a meat. It did 🙂 I used Jasmine rice in this fried rice because that’s the kind that my parents buy. I think they buy it in bulk at Costco or somewhere like that. One of the biggest reasons why people can’t make a tasty fried rice is because they use cooked rice. You need to use either frozen rice (cooked and frozen) or refrigerated rice. The crispy aspect of the rice comes from the fact that it’s frozen and cooking in the oil. If you use cooked rice right after you cook it then it’s going to be a nasty looking glob. Nasty looking globs do not make good fried rice. Also, I prefer to season my fried rice with a pinch of salt and the juice of the meat I’m using. I had leftover char siu (bbq pork). If you don’t like doing that then you can use dark soy sauce and a bit of black sesame oil. I don’t think it’s a big deal if you use light soy sauce BUT I prefer the dark kind because I like the flavor better. Regular sesame oil and black sesame oil are different. The black sesame oil has a distinct taste and is a lot stronger than the regular kind. So black sesame oil and dark soy sauce 🙂

Here’s the recipe..
Quick Char Siu Fried Rice
1 cup leftover frozen or refrigerated rice
3/4 frozen mixed vegetables
3/4 leftover meat with the sauce (I used char siu)
1 egg
a pinch of salt or soy sauce for more flavoring (optional)
oil for drizzling
sesame oil and soy sauce for seasoning (optional)
002
1. In a medium frying pan, cook your vegetables in oil until it softens and the ice is gone.
2. Add in the rice and mix together. Make sure the rice is not clumped together.
3. Add the meat with the sauce. Be sure not to add TOO much sauce or else that will make the rice very glob like. Also, if your meat doesn’t have enough sauce to season the rice, use soy sauce and sesame oil. Just eyeball it and drizzle it over your rice. You’ll want the rice to be a light brown color. Dark brown is a no no.
4. Stir that together and crack an egg over the rice.
5. Mix the egg with the rice right away so it takes the form of scrambled eggs instead of sunny side up.
6. Add salt for taste if you need to! Be sure to taste it before you add the salt. If your sauce is very well seasoned, you probably won’t need it.

Enjoy! 🙂 This makes perfectly two servings so only one serving and maybe a little leftover if you’re hungry. I’m going out to get symphony bars tomorrow! I saw a recipe on Southern Plate for Symphony Brownies. It looked so good! That and my mom bought these huge chocolate bars and one of them happens to be a symphony bar. I’m not a huge fan of milk chocolate because very often I find it too sweet. Symphony has changed my mind! It had almonds and toffee chips in it. So delicious 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

