dark chocolate peanut butter icing

image_1347065352874995
For my cousins birthday last week I made devil’s food cupcakes with dark chocolate peanut butter icing. They tasted like peanut butter cups but in cupcake form. I think they might taste better with a moist chocolate cupcake instead of devil’s food. Either way, I ate em up.

Here’s the recipe..
Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Icing
half a jar of organic dark chocolate peanut butter (I used peanut butter co.)
1 stick of butter
2 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream
2 cups confectioners sugar

1. Using a stand mixer, mix the butter and sugar together. You should get a very thick and dough like mixture.
2. Add heavy whipping cream and mix on 4.
3. Add peanut butter and mix on 6. You want to make sure it whips the icing into a smooth and creamy mixture. Mixing on 2 will not fold all ingredients together and you’ll have a broken mixture that looks like half chocolate icing and half butter. So remember, mix on high speed please!

This icing recipe is not overwhelmingly sweet. It might be because of the peanut butter but I think it would taste great with a dark chocolate cake. Maybe a truffle chocolate cake. It works great for frosting brownies and cakes too. I decided to pipe mine since it was a gift for my cousin. You can garnish it with crushed or chopped peanuts. Enjoy šŸ™‚

Photo courtesy of my cousin Steph

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “dark chocolate peanut butter icing

  1. Helen

    I was just telling my friend today that I needed to get off of sugar for a while since my sweet tooth has gotten out of control, then I opened your blog, lol!! You had me at dark chocolate šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

