chocolate peanut butter cup cupcakes

005
Hey all! Sorry for the lack of postings. I have been quite consumed with resume writing, job applications, and diploma paper work. I was browsing My Baking Addiction the other day and noticed this cupcake that had crushed peanut butter cups sprinkled on top. The moment I saw it, I wanted to reach through my laptop screen and take one. Okay maybe two or three. I took a break from my job hunting and went to the grocery store for some mini reese’s peanut butter cups. I also got a box of triple chocolate chip cake mix. I know some people are super anal about using boxed cake mix or “from scratch” methods to make their baked goods. To be honest, I love all the boxed mixes that I’ved tried so far. The only ingredients I usually need to go along with the mix are water, eggs, and oil and I always have those ingredients on hand. Personally, I don’t give a hoot if it’s from scratch or boxed mix. I’ve tried plenty of from scratch recipes for cupcakes and they came out having the texture of cornbread. Some people said I mixed too long so I switched to a whisk and did it by hand with the same results. Maybe I just can’t make cupcakes from scratch. My taste buds must be off because I’ve always liked the boxed mix cupcakes a lot better. At least I know they taste will always be the same! 🙂
002
Here’s the recipe..
Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes
1 box cake mix (I used triple chocolate chip)
1 small box instant chocolate pudding mix
1 8oz container of sour cream
4 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup water
1 bag mini reese’s peanut butter cups

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients except for the mini peanut butter cups together. Once it’s mixed, spoon the batter into a lined cupcake pan. I use a ice cream scoop for same sized cupcakes.
3. Once the cupcake liners are filled with batter, unwrap one peanut butter cup per cupcake and put it in the middle of the batter and push down.
4. Bake the cupcakes for about 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool before icing.
5. I iced them with the dark chocolate peanut butter icing from a previous post. I also unwrapped about 15-18 more peanut butter cups and cut each into four pieces. I sprinkled the cut peanut butter cups on top for garnish.

If you’re not a peanut butter lover like I am, you can opt to leave out the peanut butter cups in the batter or use a different type of icing. This cupcake is indeed a chocolate lover’s dream. I suggest eating it with a glass of milk! 🙂 Enjoy em.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

