old fashioned pancakes with peaches

008
My sister and I made breakfast together yesterday. It was pretty rare for us since we never wake up at the same time. She wakes up early and I sleep in 🙂 We decided to make pancakes because my mom keeps buying milk and no one is drinking it. I did some browsing on allrecipes.com and found a delicious recipe. I was a bit surprised because the pancakes were very fluffy and not as dense as I thought it would be. The batter was also very thick which is a little different than other pancake recipes I’ve tried. This one is definitely a keeper because it makes pancake flipping easy for people like me who make pancakes look like scrambled eggs. I’m not joking either.
007
Here’s the recipe..
Good Old Fashioned Pancakes (adapted from allrecipes.com)
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/4 cups milk
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon oil OR 1/2 tablespoon butter for frying

1. Sift all dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. You don’t want lumps in your batter because they won’t cook and you could easily get a clump of baking powder in your cooked pancake..which is gross!
2. Pour milk and oil into your dry ingredients and mix until smooth. The batter will be thick.
3. Whisk in the egg.
4. On medium heat, heat a griddle or a pan with a large surface area with a teaspoon of oil or 1/2 tablespoon of butter. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, pour the batter onto the heated griddle or pan. Flip pancake when the batter starts to boil (you’ll see bubbles in the batter as it cooks). Each pancake should take about 1 minute per side. Cooking time VARIES depending on the size of the pancakes you want. The ones I made were medium sized but if you want large ones like Denny’s and such then you need to cook them longer.

These were the fluffiest pancakes I’ve tried so far. They were also very filling. I added peach slices to mine to spice it up a bit. If I had orange juice I would have poached my peaches and my pancakes would be even more delicious! 🙂 Oh and because my mom is celebrating the mooncake festival, I have a picture of a red bean mooncake. I’m not sure which brand is it but it was pretty darn tasty.
012
Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “old fashioned pancakes with peaches

    1. Justina Post author

      If you make these with peaches you should definitely poach the peaches in orange juice first. I was so bummed I didn’t have any 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

