the cake mamas (glendora, ca)

When I left Citrus College, there was a huge hype about The Cake Mamas. I believe they won a season of Cupcake Wars on the Food Network. The shop itself was super cute and they had a variety of cupcakes to choose from. HOWEVER, their cupcakes are really light and their frosting is super heavy.

Here’s a picture of all the ones I bought
197941_10150104926956175_5917698_n
The top row consist of the lemon drop, red velvet, chocolate truffle, and thin mint. To be honest, the lemon drop was the winner out of the four. The cake was light but the frosting was the least heavy. The red velvet was delicious if you could eat the cake and frosting together. I’m not a red velvet lover but I did like the combo. I just didn’t like how my frosting fell off because the frosting was so heavy. They put more frosting than there is cake and I don’t think it’s a good idea. I like an even amount of both.

The second row consist of the dulce de leche, banana chocolate, chocolate fudge, and mixed berry. I would have to say I loved both chocolate ones. They were equally chocolatey and delicious. The banana chocolate one was pretty darn tasty. The mixed berry one way too sweet for me. I only ate half. Again, the cake was to airy and light which I didn’t really like. I like my cupcakes dense and moist.

The last row consist of the green eggs and ham, samoa, green tea, and vanilla. The green eggs and ham was the winner. They only sold it as a mini cupcake but holy cow! It was the best cupcake out of all of them. I ate that first and it was the only one I remembered. I liked the flavors they had but it was the texture of the cupcakes that I didn’t really like. My mom said the green tea was good. Thanks for reading.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

