caramel apples

Photobucket
I finally found my lollipop sticks! 🙂 I made seven caramel apples earlier. Sadly, I don’t think I did enough research on how to make caramel apples. I’m not talking about the ingredients and the process but technique. My mom saw them in the fridge and the ones that I rolled in m&ms had all the m&ms fall off. I was so disappointed! 😦 She said I put too much liquid in them. So I rolled two apples in caramel then m&ms thinking I would make m&m caramel apples. As I was dipping the third apple in the caramel I notice that the m&ms are falling off the apple. I tried to get pass it by placing m&ms on the third apple individually instead of rolling it. DIDN’T WORK! HORRIBLE IDEA! After the third apple, all the caramel was starting to firm up which made dipping the other four apples very hard. In the end, the caramel firmed so much that three apples are technically “half dipped.” ARGH!! So pretty much, I failed sweetly today.
Photobucket
This one was rolled..
Photobucket
This one wasn’t. The m&m’s didn’t get as far.
Here’s the recipe..
Caramel Apples
7 apples (I used granny smith, gala, and this other one that I can’t name)
7 lollipop sticks
8oz MINI m&ms (I used regular m&m’s which were too heavy and fell and my bag had 12oz so I used about 2/3 of the bag)
41 pieces of vanilla caramel (you can use regular)
2 tablespoons evaporated milk (I used three and it was too much so be careful while adding)

1. Wash apples and wipe to get rid of the wax on the outside.
2. Place the lollipop stick on the bottom center of each apple.
3. Cover a baking sheet with wax paper and fill a plate with m&ms. Refill as necessary.
4. Melt caramel on the stove under very low heat. Add evaporated milk while the caramel melts.
5. Dip apple in caramel and let the excess caramel drip off. Roll in m&ms and place on the wax paper. Immediately put in the fridge to harden the caramel!

I’m still sad about my m&ms..lol my baking sheet looks like a gooey mess. Three apples are oozing with caramel and m&ms around them. One of the apples looks beautifully coated while the last three are half-dipped. There really isn’t anything like a homemade caramel apple. These are awesome!!!
Photobucket
On a side note, I think my mom is completely OBSESSED with flax seed and flax seed meal. I understand that she wants to eat healthy but if you buy four bags of flax seed meal…I think you’re kinda crazy. Is it just me? She also bought italian waffle cookies that are lemon flavored. Those were pretty tasty. I laughed when she said she went clothes shopping with my grandma and Sears gave her a 2 liter bottle of root beer for free. Anything’s possible right? I’ve never had that happen before. My mom’s obsessed with Sprouts and Whole Foods. I don’t know why she’s so amazed by their selections, it’s all healthy stuff. My college student budget didn’t allow me to shop there on a regular basis. Since I told her that Sprouts and Whole Foods have been around for awhile, she told me I’m obligated to buy her flax seed meal if she ran out. Nice eh? I knew I should have kept my big mouth shut…I never seem to learn lol 😛

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

