garlic cheese bread

Photobucket
The PW’s garlic cheese bread is sooooo good. My picture doesn’t do it any justice. When I first saw it on her blog, I was skeptical because it looked like a heart attack waiting to happen. However, one year I somehow ended up with all the ingredients to make the bread so I decided to try it. It’s soooo good!! I’ve learned to cut the bread in small pieces because they’re quite addicting. Since it’s piled with mayo and cheese, I usually only make this bread during Thanksgiving and Christmas. Sometimes, just Thanksgiving. It’s an excellent appetizer for those waiting until all the food is cooked. Let the Thanksgiving recipes begin! 🙂

Here’s the recipe..
Garlic Cheese Bread (adapted from The PW)
1 loaf french bread cut in four (store bought is fine)
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
2 cups grated monterey jack cheese
1/2 cup mayo
4 green onions minced
1 stick butter
4 cloves of garlic minced
a small pinch of salt

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, mix together the cheese, mayo, salt, and green onions.
3. In a large skillet, add 2 tablespoons of butter and let it melt. Once melted, add 1/4 of the garlic immediately. Place 1/4 of the bread cut side down onto the mixture of garlic and butter. Let the bread absorb the mixture. Be careful not to let garlic burn. Repeat until all the bread is covered with the mixture.
4. Set the 4 pieces of bread on a baking sheet and spread 1/4 of the cheese and mayo mixture onto each piece of bread.
5. Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes to melt the cheese.

The PW doesn’t make this for Thanksgiving but it’s an excellent addition to my Thanksgiving staples. I’ve also included her green bean casserole and whiskey glazed carrots into my Thanksgiving rotation. I believe I will be making all three of these side dishes along with mashed potatoes, chocolate cheesecake, and the turkey! I’m kind of nervous since my sister passed the turkey making tradition to me. Thanks for reading.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “garlic cheese bread

Leave a Reply

