operation brave turkey [STEP TWO PART ONE]

Aren’t you loving my titles? I honestly had no idea what to call it since this step does have two parts. I guess I could separate it into two different steps but I don’t like to confuse myself. I’m blogging about my turkey progress just so I have a recipe to go back to next year. And to amuse anyone just in case I royally screw up. Step two part one of operation brave turkey includes making the brine and letting it cool completely. The word completely has been written in every book I’ve read about turkey making. I just thought I would let you know so you don’t think I have a small vocabulary or something. Actually, it’s okay if you do! I’m a simple person really.
Photobucket
This is the brine that my sister used last year! We only used half of the jar (i.e. 1/2lb) because the turkey wasn’t 20lbs or over. If your turkey is 20+lbs than you should use the whole jar.

Operation Brave Turkey STEP TWO PART ONE:
– heat 1 gallon of water until it’s boiling
– add approx 10 sticks of rosemary (I couldn’t stop my mom from throwing them in. I’d maybe opt for 5 or 6 if the turkey is less than 20lbs)
Photobucket
– add half a jar of apple & spices turkey brine (I used Williams-Sonoma)
Photobucket
– stir until the sea salt dissolves (there’s sea salt in this turkey brine)
– let cool to room temperature before adding the turkey!

Part Two of this process includes putting the turkey in a brine bag and putting the bag in a bucket. After the bag’s in the bucket, open the bag and pour in the brine solution (which should be cooled to room temperature). Seal the bag and put it in the fridge for 24 hours. I will be doing this part later tonight and it will be documented with photos. Stay tuned. Happy turkey making! šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

