lemon squares

AH!! These are soooo good. I’m a huge almond fan so if you’re allergic to nuts or you hate almonds, this isn’t the recipe for you. The day before Thanksgiving I went over to my friend Elaine’s house and she was making cheesecake and lemon squares. I had to go home so I didn’t get to taste test. I ended up craving them and made my own today. It’s soooo good!! It’s just the right amount of sweetness, tartness, and crunch from the crust. These are delicious.
Photobucket
Lemon Squares (adapted from Anna Thornton)
crust:
2 sticks of butter at room temperature
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt

filling:
6 eggs
3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
3 tablespoons lemon zest
3/4 cup lemon juice

confectioners sugar for garnishing
raspberries for garnishing (optional)

– preheat oven to 350 degrees
– using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, mix together the butter, almond extract, and sugar for the crust
– once it’s light and fluffy, add in salt and flour until it comes together as a dough
– pour the dough onto a greased 13×9 in pan and use your hands to push the dough flat
– bake at 350 for about 20 minutes
– let cool completely (should take 30-40 minutes) before adding the filling on top
– while the crust is baking, make the filling
– in a medium bowl, add flour, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and eggs and whisk until thoroughly mixed
– when the crust has cooled, pour filling mixture on top and bake again for about 30 minutes
– garnish with confectioners sugar and/or raspberries if desired

THESE ARE AMAZING! I’ve eaten four pieces already and I still want more. I wouldn’t substitute the almond extract for vanilla if you’re allergic but than again I’ve never tried it. I say that mainly because to me almond extract is a lot stronger in flavor than vanilla. If you put 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, you probably won’t taste it. If you put 1/2 almond, it’s already enough because the taste is very distinctive. Don’t let me stop you! I love almonds so I use almond extract. Have fun baking šŸ™‚ These make great Christmas gifts!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

