banana boats

Photobucket
This is a simple and awesome way to make a dessert. I first saw this in an episode of the PW. Her kids went camping with their grandmother and Ree made banana boats and s’mores for dessert. Basically, it’s a s’more but with a banana. They’re delicious! šŸ™‚

Banana Boats (adapted from the PW):
two bananas
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (you can put as much as you like..I love chocolate so I put more)
two handfuls of mini marshmallows (as many as you can fit into the banana boat)
two squares of graham cracker crumbled (they come in pieces of four squares attached. you’ll only need two!)

– place each banana on a sheet of foil (you’ll need two sheets total) and cut the banana peel all the way across hotdog style
– stuff each banana with half of the chocolate chips, marshmallows, and crumbled graham cracker
– wrap the foil around the banana with only the stem showing (make sure it’s tightly secure)
– place onto stove top and cook on very low heat for about 2-3 minutes until the chocolate and marshmallows melt (you can bake it too but I’m lazy)

These are great for kids desserts and camping trips! šŸ™‚ I would maybe add chocolate syrup or fudge sauce to it and add some chopped peanuts or pecans. These would be delicious with some vanilla ice cream too. It’s a great way to get kids involved in the process. I’m having a cookie marathon tomorrow. I’m basically baking for the cookie swap and for my awesome new coworkers. I’ll be blogging about this cool recipe I found called WWII molasses cookies. They caught my eye because the recipe originated in the 1940s.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

One thought on “banana boats

Leave a Reply

