world war 2 oatmeal molasses cookies

These cookies are awesome! I’m a huge cookie fanatic. Chocolate chip cookies rank at the top of my favorites but I enjoy oatmeal raisin cookies as well as white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. I was browsing on allrecipes when I saw a recipe for oatmeal raisin cookies that uses molasses instead of white sugar because during WW2, sugar was rationed. I love recipes with history to them and the person who posted the recipe got it from her grandmother. I think it dates back to 1914? Anyway, these are delicious. I like them crunchy and chewy 🙂
Photobucket
WW2 Oatmeal Molasses Cookies (adapted from all recipes)
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup cake flour
2 cups oatmeal
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons molasses
1 cup light brown sugar
2 cups raisins
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
2 sticks of unsalted butter

– preheat oven to 350 degrees
– in a large bowl, mix flours, oatmeal, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and cloves together
– using a stand mixer or hand mixer, beat together the butter and brown sugar until smooth
– add in eggs one at a time
– add vanilla extract and molasses
– add 1/3 of the dry mixture and keep mixing while alternating
– add raisins and don’t over mix during this step or you’ll break the raisins
– chill dough for about 10 minutes
– form dough into golf balls and bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes
– let cool on cookie rack for 10 minutes before storing (feel free to eat a couple!)

These are fantastic oatmeal raisin cookies. I used a combination of brown sugar and molasses because I want that sticky and gooey texture. The brown sugar helps the cookies sort of caramelize which makes them super yummy if you leave them in the oven a little longer. These cookies taste great when they’re crunchy and they taste great when they’re chewy. I packaged these babies in cello bags and I’m planning to give them away as Christmas gifts 🙂 I made some white chocolate cranberry walnut cookies last year and my family seemed to really enjoy them so I’m making them more cookies this year! Happy Holidays! 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

