frito pie

Ever since I saw the recipe on Unorthodox Epicure, I’ve been drooling. I think I have a calling for Southern cuisine. I’ve decided to retire in the South! Haha šŸ™‚ No seriously, I love Southern food. I think the only thing I don’t like is pecan pie. I love pecans and I love pie but I’m not a fan of pecan pie. Pumpkin pie is awesome šŸ™‚ This recipe is extremely easy and takes only a few minutes if you have all the ingredients. Yes I know it doesn’t have a “crust.” Personally, I could care less what it’s called as long as it taste good. When I mentioned it to my sister, her inner yankee came out and she asked me how it was a pie if it didn’t have a crust…really?! -_-
Photobucket
Frito Pie (Adam Holland)
frito corn chips
chili (I used canned chili because I’m wayyy too lazy to make my own)
shredded sharp cheddar cheese

– heat the chili (make sure it’s hot not warm..if it’s warm the cheese won’t melt!)
– in a medium bowl, layer it with corn chips
– sprinkle some cheese on top
– pour the chili on top of the cheese

It’s really that simple! My picture’s blurry because I was hungry šŸ˜› It taste amazing. It’s definitely pure comfort food. You could eat it as a meal or as a snack. It works with homemade or canned chili. If you want to make your own chili than by all means make it. I’ve never made chili from scratch so I went with the canned kind. Enjoy!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

