Chinese New Year: Part Two

 photo lobster_zpsbc30cc6b.png
So I talked a bit about traditions during CNY in part one of my CNY posts. It’s considered good luck to build strong family ties because in Chinese culture, family is very important. Yesterday I went to my grandmas house for our annual CNY celebration. Somehow we always end up going to my grandmas house first every year. My moms side of the family congregated and we had a delicious feast. One of the dishes was lobster noodles. It’s usually available at Chinese restaurants during lunch or dinner. My uncle was going to cook some and he asked me to help. I’ll be posting the recipe soon! ūüôā
 photo uncle_zps8472a922.png
That’s my uncle in the picture. My grandma has a propane stove outside and we were outside cooking delicious lobster. My uncle laughed at me when I told him I had to get myself one of these. They really reminded me of the traditional Chinese stoves people use in China. Well…except for the propane part. My parents always talked about cooking dinner over a fire so they had to be fast and resourceful. And just in case you’re wondering, there were three trays of beautiful lobster and delicious noodles.

Another strange tradition which I think only exist in my family is bringing bread (bao) to another relatives house. Literally, I was pelted with bread from all my aunts.
 photo bread_zpsbffc54f8.png
The white one is gai bao which translates into chicken bun. The one on the right of the gai bao is the cha siao bao which translates into bbq pork bun. The long looking one is just a bun with a hot dog inside. The last one is bo lo bao which is pineapple bun. It has a sweet coconuty filling. The bbq pork buns are the business! My mom actually knows how to make the chicken buns so I never really buy them anymore.

That’s all for now. I’m sure I’ll have more food stories. When I have time, I will write up the recipe for the lobster noodles. Thanks for reading!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

