MY willie cake

 photo 005-1_zps27721112.png
This is my version of the famous Willie cake. For the food enthusiast out there who live in the Southern California area, you’ve probably heard of the Issimo Food Group based in San Diego. For those unfamiliar with them, the owner makes this chocolate cake that basically taste like chocolate moussee and the cake is named after his son, Willie. I believe he takes orders online so try it. It’s freakin bomb.com. It’s a very chocolatey flourless cake that is ah-mazing. This is the first flourless cake I’ve ever made and let me tell you….it’s probably the best from scratch cake I’ve ever made. EVER. Just thought I’d let you know. The original Willie cake has dark rum in it and is covered with gorgeous chocolate ganache. It’s delicious and to die for but I made some adjustments based on my chocolate cravings.

The Willie Cake (adapted from all recipes)
10 oz dark chocolate (I used Dove’s dark chocolate hearts)
1 stick unsalted butter
6 egg whites
6 egg yolks
1/2 cup granulated white sugar, divided
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup powdered sugar for garnishing

– preheat oven to 350 degrees
– boil a small pot of water and melt chocolate and butter in a glass bowl over the pot
– let chocolate cool and in a separate bowl, whip egg yolks and 1/4 cup of sugar
– fold in vanilla extract and chocolate to the egg yolk mixture and set aside
– in a separate bowl, whip egg whites with the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar
– mix the egg whites until you get medium peaks (when you hold up the mixer, the egg whites should be firm but still drop back into the bowl)
– fold egg whites into chocolate mixture in thirds
– pour into a 9×9 inch circular cake pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes
– let cake cool before garnishing with powdered sugar
 photo 015-2_zpsccba9c9f.png
I garnished my piece with a strawberry since it’s strawberry season and all 🙂 This cake is great. I love the texture because it’s very melt in your mouth. It taste like chocolate moussee but has a super fudgy brownie texture with a crispy top. It’s a great birthday cake. I didn’t add the dark rum that the original Willie cake has because I hate rum. The cake taste great with or without it. This cake is quite chocolatey because I switched to dark chocolate instead of using bittersweet chocolate. I didn’t feel the need to make the ganache since I used dark chocolate. You gotta try it! Thanks for stopping by.
 photo Image2_zps32fc9a95.png

Leave a Reply

