bolsa chica wetlands

 photo 29161_397553376174_3176620_n_zpsa86ff428.jpg
Today my class got to take a field trip to Cherry Beach (Long Beach) as part of a beach clean-up in honor of Earth Day. I was so bummed that I didn’t bring my camera because the beach was beautiful. I would definitely have gotten some great shots 😦 After Cherry Beach and lunch, we headed to the Bolsa Chica Conservancy also known as Bolsa Chica Wetlands/Ecological Reserve. They have a nature walk there and it’s sort of like a hiking trail. I honestly did not realize how out of shape I was until I was walking that trail. I don’t remember walking that much since my college days of running from the shuttle stop all the way to the other side of campus in five minutes. I really loved it though because it was sunny and windy. It was a great day for the field trip. As I was walking back to the parking lot, I suddenly found myself missing Orange County more and more now that I live in the valley. I’m determined to find enough money to move back to Irvine again. The wetlands is in a pretty cool location. Across the street on one side is Huntington Beach and on the other side is the Huntington yacht club. The kids really had fun on the trail and it was great to see them in their natural environment. The wetlands itself has a bunch of wildlife. I saw lizards, cranes, ducks, and etc. It was also a great spot for photos but being the forgetful dummy that I am…I didn’t bring my camera. I’m totally kicking myself for that. I got a great tan today 🙂 If you’re in the area or would like to volunteer to clean up stuff, it’s the perfect place. I went there a few years ago to do a clean up (weed pulling) with my honor society. The nature walk is great. Since it’s by the beach, it’s super breezy and cool. It felt great just taking that walk and having time to myself. I seriously miss the OC 😦 Until next time!

 photo Image2_zps32fc9a95.png

Leave a Reply

