marshmallow treats

I’ve been wanting to make granola bars all week and somehow my desire for granola bars turned into marshmallow treats. I found leftover rice krispies cereal and marshmallows and decided to go the marshmallow route 🙂
 photo 007_zpsd834aedc.png

Marshmallow Treats
3/4 bag mini marshmallows, divided
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
3 cups rice krispies cereal
1 1/2 cups quaker oats cereal
1 cup raw almonds
1/2 cup organic sweet and dried cranberries

– In a medium pan, melt butter
– Once butter is completely melted, add the marshmallows minus one cup (save it for later)
– In a medium bowl, add the cereals, almonds, cranberries, and one cup of leftover marshmallows
– When the marshmallow has completely melted, pour on top of the cereal mixture and mix
– Press mixture into a 13x9in pan and press down to get an even layer
– Let cool for about an hour so it firms up before you cut into it

I was hesitant about adding almonds but the taste of the melted marshmallows and the almonds seem to really blend together. It’s delicious 🙂 Definitely something that fools you into thinking it’s healthy! A trick I use when I push down the mixture into the pan is having a small bowl of cold water handy. I dip my fingers into the cold water before pressing down on the mixture. That way I won’t get burned because the mixture is still hot and my fingers won’t stick to the mixture. It’s always worked for me so if you’re having trouble, try it out. Happy eating! 🙂 The two year anniversary of my little blog is coming up! I’m actually super excited (and I remembered this year).

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

