Perfectly Sweet (Alhambra, CA)

I’ve always seen this bakery driving by but never thought anything of it. My friend posted some pictures on Facebook and they looked good so I decided to try them out myself. Today marks the two year anniversary that I’ve been writing this blog and what better way to celebrate than to celebrate with sweets? 🙂
 photo 005_zpsb2c2e503.png
I ordered the creme brulee, tiramisu, strawberry shortcake, and banana cream pie. I walked in and there was no one inside. The two ladies working were chatting among themselves without a care to greet me which I thought was rude since I know they saw me. After a minute or so, one of the ladies came over and asked me how I was. YAY, finally some customer service. I don’t know about you but when I worked at the candy store at the mall six years ago, my manager ALWAYS demanded that I greet customers. Her philosophy was no smile no business. Now it makes sense to me.
 photo 004_zps56bb7677.png
Aside from the semi-lack of service, the box was decorated quite nicely.
 photo 008_zps612a1828.png
This is the tiramisu. I love tiramisu and anything Kahlua related. I was a bit disappointed with the texture of the tiramisu. Taste wise, it was fantastic. The texture was off because half of it was mascarpone and the other half was cake drenched in Kahlua to the point where it taste pudding-ish. I like my tiramisu to have layers of cake and that’s what it lacked.
 photo 007_zps68f04d2a.png
This is the banana cream pie. It’s flippin huge. The cream and the banana filling taste great. I hated the crust. It taste like standard frozen pie crust which is no bueno. Altogether it taste good but I still prefer the one at Bittersweet Treats in Pasadena.
 photo 011_zps33c1f8a1.png
This is the strawberry shortcake. I’ve never been huge about strawberry shortcake until I tried the ones from Bon Epi in Irvine. This strawberry shortcake definitely gives Bon Epi a run for their money. AND Perfectly Sweet is so much closer to home which means more visits! 🙂 The cream, cake, and strawberries all blended together beautifully. It was my favorite out of the four.
 photo 015_zps1a108627.png
Creme brulee! I love the stuff. It’s expensive as heck but when I can get, I get it. The creme brulee was as big as the banana pie which was awesome. The melted sugar on top gave me hype for like an hour. The custard was smooth and creamy. It’s not the best I’ve had but definitely pretty good. The only thing I didn’t like was the thick layer of melted sugar. I like my creme brulees to have a thin coating so I can focus on the delicious custard beneath it. It was displayed beautifully though 🙂

Well there you have it. Happy two years to my blog! I’ve been thinking of a giveaway project but am waiting to hear back from a fellow blogger. We shall wait and see if it’s a go or a no. Hopefully I get to post about it on here 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “Perfectly Sweet (Alhambra, CA)

    1. Justina Post author

      Semi-expensive? haha The tiramisu and strawberry shortcake were about $4 and the banana cream pie and creme brulee were $4.50-4.75. It’s pretty decent because the portion sizes are huge. I definitely can’t finish the creme brulee or pie on my own.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

