Jordan Farmar

 photo 014_zps995bf6b1.png
One of my biggest goals for the summer was to volunteer. I wanted to do something that I would enjoy and something that I felt passionate about so I decided to volunteer for Hoop Farm. Basketball and kids, what’s not to love? Jordan Farmar happens to be my favorite basketball player so it’s a win win situation. Hoop Farm is a summer basketball camp held in the Pauley Pavilion at UCLA. It’s a four day camp for boys and girls ages 7-16. They do yoga, basketball drills, basketball games, and etc. Lunch is also provided. Tomorrow is the last day of camp but definitely look into it next year.
 photo 001_zpsba4d8b3a.png
 photo 023_zps94c81dfa.png
My older sister was a freshman when Jordan was a sophomore so I’ve been following him for awhile. I was super excited that he played for the Lakers after he declared for the NBA. I’m even happier that he’s a Laker again. Trying to convince myself to be a Nets fan was brutal. Gotta root for the home team right? LA all the way 🙂 I don’t follow many professional athletes. In fact I think Jordan is the only one I follow consistently because of all the great things that he’s accomplished aside from his basketball career. All the things he does with his foundation and spending time with kids at Mattel’s Children’s Hospital really sets him apart from other athletes. At least in my eyes it does. It’s cool to see a professional athlete using his stardom to help the community he grew up in. People laugh at me when I say it but it doesn’t matter if he scores 30 points or 0 points. He’ll still be my favorite because he’s an inspiration.
 photo 020_zps71df30a6.png
I don’t know him personally but I can definitely say Jordan is a down to earth and humble kind of guy. He’s incredibly nice and polite. Probably one of the sweetest people I’ve met. Just the way he carries himself inspires people. You know how you idolize someone and you want to be exactly like them? Some people have their dreams crushed because the person they idolized wasn’t what they lived them up to be. Jordan is exactly what I thought he would be like. He inspires me with all the great work he’s doing with his foundation. When I first started following his foundation, I thought to myself that if I was given the opportunity to do great things like that I would do the same thing. So why not start volunteering? He’s truly inspirational. Not a lot of people would spend approximately six hours at a gym with over 100 kids trying to teach them the fundamentals of basketball for four days. Keep in mind there are kids who are 7 years old.

The experience was amazing. The other volunteers were really nice and I got to know them pretty well in the two days that I volunteered. The coaches were hilarious. It was great to see that many of the coaches and volunteers are friends with Jordan. It gave the camp a family atmosphere and that is a hard thing to accomplish. I also met his mom and his daughter which was really awesome. My favorite memory of camp was watching the drills sessions on my second day. A young boy was struggling during a drill where you have to bounce a basketball with each hand from the starting line to the other side and back. Jordan was watching him and saw that he was struggling so he asked the boy for the basketballs and when the boy gave them to him, he showed him how to do the drill and gave him pointers. I thought it was cool because the boy was grinning from ear to ear afterwards. It’s moments like that that definitely make the volunteer experience worth it. I asked him if I could take a picture with him and he said sure. I was laughing afterwards when I was talking to the other volunteers because he probably thought why is that crazy Asian girl ambushing me right when I first get here? Sorry Jordan! 🙂 It’s an awesome picture even though Jason photo bombed it. He’s hilarious too. I swear he was eating every time I saw him.
 photo 028_zpsadc7a0f7.png
 photo 007_zps7c587e8d.png
Hopefully his foundation hosts other events because I’d definitely volunteer. Everyone was friendly and chill. It’s a great opportunity to volunteer. There were kids from all sorts of backgrounds. Some of the kids from the Department of Child and Family Services were really taking to the coaches. I saw a boy cling onto a coaches arm and another one rest his head on their shoulders. Some of the younger boys were trying to teach me secret handshakes while others were trying to impress me with hand stands. Overall, I had a lot of fun. I was the official Gatorade mixer during day two. I have to say, my Gatorade mixing skills are legit. The kids said it taste better the second day than the first day. It’s hilarious to watch the kids eyes light up when they know Jordan’s watching. I wish I got to volunteer all four days to get the full experience but two days was still awesome. I’d definitely do it again. YAY LAKERS 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

