Fortune Bakery (San Gabriel, CA)

I’ve been meaning to make a trip to Fortune Bakery for awhile. Every time I drove past it, I never felt the urge to actually stop. It’s definitely a hole in a wall kind of place. I was debating with myself over which bakery to get my grandma’s birthday cake at and ended up at Fortune. The customer service was great. The lady was very friendly and did her best to answer my questions. There are a ton of cake toppers when you walk in. I almost thought I walked into the wrong place at first. I went after work so the selections weren’t too big. I ended up buying the chocolate cake with strawberry filling. Most of the cakes were simple so if you’re looking for something shnazzy than this isn’t your place.
 photo 006_zps4206455d.png
I took this picture at the restaurant and the lame waiter put the dent in the cake. Talk about fail 😦
 photo 013_zps5e7c9f00.png
I got the 8 inch cake for $17. It’s not too expensive for a decent cake. It was a lot denser than the regular asian bakeries which I liked. It wasn’t too sweet so no one complained. The only thing I didn’t like was the filling. The filling tasted great but it lacked strawberries. There were strawberry halves in the filling and I think they should cut them smaller and have more.
 photo 001_zpsc12a77e6.png
I’m a huge Hello Kitty lover so I got two cookies for my cousin and myself. They tasted stale and gross. Definitely don’t get the cookies there! Yuck! It looked good so I got them but they definitely don’t taste as good as they look.
 photo 005_zpsf3dd7f68.png
This is a tiramisu cake my cousin bought at Paris Baguette. I didn’t even know they sold cakes since they’re supposed to sell sandwiches? o_O Anyway, the cake was delicious but there was a huge portion of mascarpone mixture on the outer layer and it was way too dense. I LOVE mascarpone but without the cake, I couldn’t finish it. The design was pretty cool though 🙂

Summer schools’ almost over! Time to hit up Bruxie’s, Mendocino Farms, and Tender Greens. I’ve also been meaning to stop by ConfeXion Cupcakes to try their brioughnuts. Brioche/donut? Genius! 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

