my favorite fried rice

 photo 001_zps0bc85363.png
I hope you can see the picture. My photobucket account is killing me. I can’t see my own pictures but I only used up like 2.3% of the bandwidth on my account. ANYWAY, this is my all time favorite fried rice dish. It’s called haam yu gai lup chow fan in Chinese. I believe this dish is a hidden gem because if you translate the name into English, most people wouldn’t buy it. It translates into salty fish fried rice with diced chicken. It doesn’t sound too appetizing does it? I’ve always hated translating the Chinese names into English names because it just kills it. I LOVE this fried rice. If it’s available on the dinner menu, you best believe I’ll order it. It’s also available for take out at most Chinese take out places. I love it so much because it’s truly authentic fried rice. It’s so hidden because most people order fried rice with Chinese sausage, eggs, and shrimp. I find that very Americanized. How ironic, right? My mom always tells me I’m very “Americanized” but there are certain dishes that I love that most people will never order. Those are the great ones! šŸ™‚ I got an order of fried rice and a regular boba milk tea at Sam Woo’s BBQ for about $11. The dish itself contains salty fish, diced chicken, egg, lettuce, and rice. The egg is scrambled into the rice which makes it taste oh so delicious. I don’t know why they put the lettuce in there BUT that’s how I’ve always had it so I’ll be suspicious if there’s no lettuce. Some places mix it into the rice for you but Sam Woo BBQ sprinkled it on top of the rice and I mixed it in myself. For about $8.50, the order is huge. It definitely feeds two people. I’m a happy fat kid right now! I had to treat myself because I got a Hep B shot today. It hurt like no other. I don’t think I’ve ever bled so much after having a shot. Seeing the blood was unreal. Anyway, happy eating! Make sure you order this dish the next time you’re at a Chinese take-out place.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “my favorite fried rice

    1. Justina Post author

      It is good! šŸ™‚ I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t like a lot of soy sauce on my fried rice. I think the fish itself salts the rice pretty well so there’s really no need for a ton of soy sauce.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

