cinnamon french toast

One of the things I’m addicted to is this Japanese white bread my parents keep buying from Mitsuwa. It’s a Japanese market with locations in Torrance and San Gabriel. The bread itself is thick but it’s also donut like. It’s sturdy but light. When I first tried some, I thought it would great french toast. I’ve made french toast with french bread, regular bread, sourdough, and etc. This version by far the best I’ve had.
003
Cinnamon French Toast
3 pieces of Japanese white bread
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
a pinch of salt
syrup for serving
oil for frying
powdered sugar, optional

– in a shallow dish, beat egg
– add milk and vanilla to egg and mix
– add cinnamon and salt and mix again
– soak the first piece of bread in the dish for 30 secs on each side (NO MORE AND NO LESS)
– after the minute is up, transfer to a pan where oil is heating and it’s ready for frying
– cook for about 2 minutes on each side (I used medium to medium low heat so it doesn’t burn before it’s cooked)
– once the first piece is cooked, transfer to a plate and repeat with the other two pieces
– when the last piece is done, you can opt to sprinkle powdered sugar on top or not
– drizzle with syrup and enjoy šŸ™‚

I would probably add more cinnamon the next time I make this. I’ll have to add some nutmeg too. They smelled like cinnamon but the taste wasn’t as strong as I would have liked. It was so good though! šŸ™‚ I washed it down with a cup of watermelon agua frescas. It was a great breakfast. Happy reading!
Dsc_0004
Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

