belgian style waffles with chorizo scrambled eggs

005
I went a little crazy at Williams Sonoma yesterday and of all the items I bought, I got pure maple syrup from Vermont. The ultimate good stuff. I wanted to try it out so I made waffles for breakfast today while the big sis made chorizo scrambled eggs. I’ve never had chorizo and eggs together but surprisingly it’s really good.
006
I used Emeril Lagasse’s recipe minus the pecan butter and bacon. You can buy chorizo in ground form (like ground beef) or in sausage form (like a sausage link). We couldn’t find the ground kind so we bought the sausage kind and took it out of the casing.

Chorizo Scrambled Eggs
6-7 eggs beaten
4oz of pork chorizo sausage taken out of the casing
1-2 teaspoons milk

– in a medium frying pan, add oil to coat the pan
– while the pan is getting hot, add milk to beaten eggs and mix
– pour egg mixture onto pan while it’s on medium low to low heat
– once the bottom looks like it’s coming together, add the chorizo sausage and stir
– it takes about 2-3 minutes to cook depending on how you like your eggs

You could add salt if you like salty food but taste it first. The sausage already has plenty of salt so I didn’t add any. You could always add more but you can’t take it out once you add it! It’s super delish with the waffles.
004
I got these gorgeous napkins on sale. I love the green color and gold designs. It’s simple but beautiful at the same time.
003
I also got corn dog mix and expresso powder. I’ve been trying to find good expresso powder for awhile now. It goes great in brownies and chocolate cake or cupcakes. It really brings out the flavor of the chocolate. I will be trying the corn dog mix soon! šŸ™‚ The maple syrup was delicious. Since it’s pure maple syrup, you don’t need a lot of it. I would say I used about half of the amount of this as I would have regular pancake syrup. It’s sweeter than regular syrup too. I also bought something for my first giveaway with Project Give but I won’t post it until September 1st. I hope you give it a try. It’s super easy šŸ™‚ Happy eating!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

