Project Give: September Giveaway & a Guest Post!!

Whoo hoo! It’s time for the first Project Give giveaway!!! It all started when a childhood friend of mine thanked me profusely for baking her goodies and sending her a $10 gift card to Walmart for her birthday. I was a bit perplexed with her response and attempted to shrug it off like no biggie. To me, homemade cookies, brownies, and a $10 gift card didn’t seem like much. Boy, was I wrong. We were chatting and I asked her “so…how’s South Carolina?” After telling me that she hates it with a passion (she’s a city girl), I told her about the new job I recently started. She went on to say that I’m lucky because I have a job since it’s so hard to find one these days and she hasn’t been able to find one. She also told me how her hubby’s pay got messed up (she’s a military spouse) for whatever reasons and the gift card provided diapers for her baby since they were struggling financially. When I read her message, I sat there and kind of just stared at my laptop screen. I grew up in a household that lived paycheck to paycheck so I know all too well how financial burdens take their toll on people. If homemade goodies and a $10 gift card can bring her a sense of relief, maybe it can help someone else too. In honor of my friend, this month’s giveaway is a $10 gift card to Target and a delicious baked donut mix from Williams Sonoma. All giveaways are funded by me unless otherwise stated.
004
To enter the giveaway, you must
– Be a military spouse
– Have a blog
– Leave a comment in the comment section with a link to your blog
– Live in the U.S. (this giveaway only ships in the U.S.)
– Only enter this giveaway once (to give everyone a fair chance)

I will use random.org to generate a number and the number that matches the comment will be the winner. The winner will be announced next Sunday at 8pm via my blog. The winner will have two days to contact me via email with their shipping information. If I haven’t been contacted within two days, another winner will be chosen.

Each giveaway will include a Cherish Every Moment bracelet and card to support The Dax Locke Foundation. Please consider making a donation and help Dax’s mom, Julie reach her goal of raising $1.6 million to run St. Jude’s hospital for one day in his honor.

Project Give will have a giveaway posted the first of every month. Good luck to everyone!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

And now, a guest post from Nicole of Adventures of a Semper Fi Family. Nicole reached out to me after I presented her with my idea about Project Give so I asked her to share a little bit about what the military life is like.

Hello Failing Sweetly blog readers! My name is Nicole. I blog at Adventures of a Semper Fi Family about my life as a Marine wife and mom of three. I love to share our adventures around our current duty station, Camp Pendleton.  Justina has asked me to guest post today to kickoff an amazing giveaway she has put together for military spouses.  I couldn’t be happier to share a little about our military life and help Justina get the word out about this fantastic giveaway.

There is no secret military life has its share of ups and downs. Nothing a pound of chocolate won’t fix! I’ve been doing this military spouse thing for 15 years. In that time, I’ve done my fair share of deployments, training, and wacky work schedules. The military is anything but consistent.

Military spouses are a tight knit group; however, most know their fair share of alone-ness! Honeymoons, births, and anniversaries are some major milestones often celebrated solo. Lost teeth and first steps are documented in pictures. Life as a military spouse is a game of chance when it comes to ‘will he be here’ odds. Planning dinner is minor gamble on the weekly. Those close knit relationships really help get me through!

Despite the inconsistency of military life, I have found most military spouses grow accustomed to the lifestyle. It becomes conversational fodder when connecting with other wives. I’ve said it time and again, one bad military experience can always be topped by another spouse’s bad experience. It’s the nature of the beast but considered in good fun. You must have a sense of humor when you are married to the military.

The ironic part is how addictive the military life becomes. Despite the stress, there are so many good things to embrace. The military community is close knit. We understand each other. We make friends all over the world. We uphold traditional values of faith and country. No matter what the cost we believe in ensuring freedom for all. The sacrifices are minimal compared to the outcome.

Military life can be tough. It isn’t always the easiest to endure. But the payoffs make it worthwhile. Every Thank You and  piece of encouragement from complete strangers are received in perfect timing. The cost is high and we appreciate the recognition. My husband follows the orders he receives from his Chain of Command. The kids and I make sure to provide the assurance he needs to make it through. And you are the reason we keep on because we know it matters!  Thank you!!

Nicole

Facebook // Twitter // Bloglovin // 

Follow on Bloglovin

16 thoughts on “Project Give: September Giveaway & a Guest Post!!

    1. Justina Post author

      You’re welcome 🙂 Thank you for all your help in promoting the giveaway! I’m currently scheming on what to send you as a thank you gift that won’t melt in this ridiculous weather we’re having. Look out for an email 🙂

      Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Heather, I should be the one applauding you! But thank you for the sweet words. That sounds wonderful. Let me know what you have in mind and we can go from there 🙂 I’ll email you the details about my project. Oh, and I’m totally jealous you met your husband at Extraordinary Desserts. I’ve been wanting to try that location! haha 🙂 Their creme brulee is soooo good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

