thanksgiving recap

Most of the dishes for Thanksgiving this year were from a restaurant because everyone in my family is working crazy hours. We bought the turkey this year and it was delicious but somehow it didn’t come with any sauce. What’s up with that?! Anyway, I made mashed potatoes and green beans with tomatoes. I sort of made up my own mashed potato recipe based on what I’ve tried and what I like. This years recipe included sour cream, heavy whipping cream, butter, pepper, and seasoned salt. I made the PW’s green beans with tomatoes. It’s freakin delicious. It smelled really great when I poured them into a bowl. I love the addition of the tomatoes. It’s a bit sour but oh so delicious.
 photo 019_zpsaa78e12f.png
PW Green Beans w/Tomatoes (slightly altered)
2lbs fresh green beans
8 slices turkey bacon, chopped into pieces
1 medium onion, diced
a few splashes of EVOO
1 28oz can organic whole tomatoes

– cook the onions in the EVOO until onions turn a little translucent (medium low to low heat)
– add turkey bacon and coat in EVOO
– pour in green beans
– add the whole tomatoes juice and all
– stir everything to get it all coated and cook on medium low/low heat for about 45 minutes

 photo 021_zps967b1672.png
 photo 020_zps6d1e6c61.png
I started my holiday baking and made chocolate cupcakes with chocolate ganache frosting today ūüôā Recipe coming soon!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

