chicken pot pie ver. 2

 photo 007_zpsa6502412.png
Somehow in 2011 my brother asked for a chicken pot pie for his Christmas present. Eventually, that turned into a tradition so for the past three years I’ve been making him a chicken pot pie. This year was no different. I used a different recipe but he loved it all the same.
 photo 008_zps62bbc845.png

Chicken Pot Pie Ver. 2 (makes 2)
2 1/2 cups rotisserie chicken, shredded
2 14.5oz cans of chicken broth
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
2- 2 1/2 cups frozen vegetables (I used the green bean, corn, and carrots kind)
2 frozen pie crust, thawed
half a stick of butter
2-3 tablespoons of flour
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon dried parsley
salt and pepper to taste (I used more pepper than salt since the broth was salty enough)

– in a medium pot, melt butter
– sprinkle in flour and whisk until combined
– add shredded chicken and coat the chicken in the flour mixture
– add chicken broth and whipping cream
– when the mixture comes close to a boil, add in frozen veggies
– add in seasonings and adjust to your taste (I added a lot of pepper which made a spicy chicken pot pie)
– bring it to a boil and pour half of mixture into a 8×8 inch glass pan and the other half into another 8×8 inch glass pan
– preheat oven to 375 degrees
– take pie crusts and press it against chicken mixtures
– used a knife to poke holes in the top to let the pie vent while baking
– use a fork to crimp the edges of the pie if desired
– bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes

You should let it cool before eating but I couldn’t wait that long. The day I made it, my house was freezing so it was an awesome treat. Enjoy! šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “chicken pot pie ver. 2

  1. Renee @ Tortillas and Honey

    I’ve never made a homemade chicken pot pie before, but have been wanting to make it this year now that it’s colder outside and in want of some great comfort food. I like that you use rotisserie chicken, so I might have to give your version a try!

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Renee, it’s very basic and simple! Just the way I like my recipes šŸ™‚ I’ve always made my chicken pot pies with rotisserie chicken.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

